PDA

View Full Version : How long has PhotoShop CS5 been out?



OldGuy
05-12-2010, 04:12 PM
Hi all. I finally have a little money to burn and was considering upgrading to Adobe PhotoShop CS5. (I'm currently using v7 from eons ago)

I hate to buy a product and then hear about a new version coming out a month later. Anyone know offhand how long CS5 has been out? Are there any rumors of CS6 on the horizon?

Ascension
05-12-2010, 04:23 PM
It's been out for about, oh, a month that I know of.

OldGuy
05-12-2010, 04:34 PM
It's been out for about, oh, a month that I know of.

LOL. Perfect timing then. Thanks!

mearrin69
05-12-2010, 07:09 PM
Indeed. Wish I had waited. I got CS4 in late November. Please tell us all about it when you have had a chance to explore.
M

OldGuy
05-12-2010, 09:10 PM
<sigh> I think I'll have to wait now. :(

I'm using Eye Candy 4000 (also a 10 year old version) and it doesn't look like it will work with CS5. The new version is $249 which I don't have. I use it so heavily that I can't imagine PS without it, so no point upgrading PS until I can do both.
________
top penny stocks (http://pennystockpicks.net/)

Ascension
05-12-2010, 09:48 PM
Don't worry about your old version, I use CS which is almost as old. The newer versions look like they'd just confuse me.

dragonlady
05-12-2010, 10:19 PM
That is one reason why I went from my old PS version 7 to PSE (current version). It has all the features that I was use to in PS7, plus some upgrades (I've grown to love the panorama features).

I understand that PS CS Ver X has lots of new wonderful features that I am totally missing out on. But my wallet loves me.

tilt
05-13-2010, 12:39 AM
I've seen the teasers that Adobe has put out there, and all my programs (PS, ILL, ID) has cool new features, so I'm planning to upgrade soon :)
Photoshop has got a cool new funcion for retoush work - when you delete elements it pretty much calculates what was behind it
Illustrator have now got an option for varying stroke width (tapered rivers - yes)
InDesign ... well is not really relevant for mapping - but has got new stuff to.. .like different size pages, which I have been missing :)

all in all a cool package again ... to bad the price is double up in Denmark :(

Coyotemax
05-13-2010, 07:04 AM
I tried the trial version, and almost immediately determined it wouldn't be worth it for me to upgrade at this time. I'm using CS3 at the moment, and the GPU options won't work with my machine, so the only thing I could really make use of might be the content aware stuff (nifty) and the ability to adjust layer properties on multiple layers at once (also nifty) - but nifty is not enough of an incentive for me to justify the cost.

OldGuy
05-13-2010, 03:48 PM
I just got the following response from Alien Skin support:

Hi Mike,
I would say upgrading to CS5 would be the best bet based on your setup. I have no idea if EC 6 will work under version 7 of Photoshop, but I doubt it. EC 4000 seems to work find under the 32-bit version of CS5 on my Win 7 machine. Hope this helps.
I may be upgrading to CS5 after all! :)
________
kr-1s (http://www.cyclechaos.com/wiki/Kawasaki_KR-1S)

Natai
05-13-2010, 06:07 PM
For those of you that might not be aware: you can download a fully-functional trial of CS5 from the Adobe site. Playing around with it may help you decide if it's worth it.

I'm toying around with PS CS5 now, but have not toyed around with many new features. The only initial difference I have noticed from CS4 is draw times seem to be improved on my setup (GTX 275 working with large PSB files) but everything else (filters, etc.) seems a little more sluggish (only very slightly). I also need to adjust the zoom tool; it defaults to a setup where clicking and dragging produces some sort of dynamic zoom, instead of the traditional marquee zoom.

With regard to Eyecandy, my expectation would be that old versions would continue to work with 32-bit Photoshop versions, but not 64-bit. So unless you like switching back and forth between PS versions, you have to choose between having access to your old filter and being able to utilize more RAM for your images. I really wish Adobe would come up with something that would enable 32-bit brushes in 64-bit PS.

su_liam
05-14-2010, 02:12 PM
About a week after I got CS4, I suspect. I'm happy enough with what I have, though I wish CartoPGM worked in CS4. I have to start up my old CS to deal with PGMs, which takes about five times as long as starting CS4 'cause it's in emulation. Apparently the internal photoshop import/export plugin for PGM doesn't handle grayscale properly. At least so far as Bryce is concerned.

I figure if CS4 breaks an old plugin CS5 will and probably vice-versa. Annoying, that.

minimal
05-17-2010, 01:34 PM
I just got the following response from Alien Skin support:
Originally Posted by Eye Candy Rep
Hi Mike,
I would say upgrading to CS5 would be the best bet based on your setup. I have no idea if EC 6 will work under version 7 of Photoshop, but I doubt it. EC 4000 seems to work find under the 32-bit version of CS5 on my Win 7 machine. Hope this helps.

I may be upgrading to CS5 after all! :)

If you're using a 64 bit version of windows then using CS5 32 bit is really crippling yourself out of the gate...

Looking at upgrading ASAP myself. From what I hear it makes much better use of optimization and has some great masking toys that I want to play with. Unfortunately, it apparently also has a bit of learning curve and "why didn't they finish this feature?" to it. That's pretty much Adobe SOP though.

Ascension
05-17-2010, 04:23 PM
Yeah, a feature that they introduce now won't be perfected until 2 versions down the line.

Steel General
05-17-2010, 04:28 PM
Yeah, a feature that they introduce now won't be perfected until 2 versions down the line.

Sounds like Micro$oft

tilt
05-18-2010, 04:38 AM
sounds like almost all software companies, they all push to get their product to market and then they'll fix things later - pretty standard in that business now. The opposite example was Duke Nuke'm 2 - which never shipped due to fixing everything beforehand... and everytime some other game came with something new, they had to have that too.. before shipping... and then they used up all their money...

Redrobes
05-18-2010, 06:37 AM
Software should work but now that I have had the experience of writing and releasing a full product I can tell you that its the users that demand that you release early even with the bugs in it. People who buy software want more features with bugs in more than they want less features which are fully tested and fixed. That's not what I want but its is what the large majority of people want. Microsoft are big because they outpaced their rivals with features and a pretty UI despite everyone and their dog knowing that it used to crash & BSOD continuously. There are people now that only buy apps from version 2 or that they release 10+ versions per year because it has an active development strategy. This to me smacks of it being fundamentally buggy and likely as not never ever to work without problems. But if you write something and spend ages getting it perfect, release a V1 and not update it then to large sections of the potential user base its a non starter. With a company like Microsoft who has a history of releasing less well tested software then you can apply that strategy but its not universal.