PDA

View Full Version : WIP - Batai

Master TMO
05-15-2010, 02:13 PM
I'm an almost complete newb at this world-building business, so I thought I'd post this map as I worked on it. If I do anything silly/stupid, folks can correct, and if I do happen to do something new and good, I can answer questions.

As a concept, there's nothing special about Batai the world, just an Earth-like. I'm working on it for a friend's MMORPG. He would probably be happy with this default map, but I'm going to use it as a learning experience. Here's the default map.

I'll add posts to this thread as I make progress.

arsheesh
05-15-2010, 02:16 PM
Hello Master TMo, and welcome to the guild. Hm, I'm not seeing a map?

Master TMO
05-15-2010, 02:20 PM
I attached the wrong one, so you must have looked while I was swapping maps out. ;)

Master TMO
05-15-2010, 02:27 PM
I exported it into Photoshop to make a contour map, so I could determine how the mountain ranges would affect the wind patterns, and where to place deserts and rainforests. I built a wind pattern map in Powerpoint since I'm no meteorologist and couldn't handle trying to figure all that out in my head. ;)

Changing the rainfall to fit is my next task. Right in the middle of the map is an area that goes below sea level and is completely surrounded by mountains. It's also just south of the 30 degree latitude, which is the lat where deserts tend to form. The mountains would block all the rainfall brought in from the ocean to the east, so it's going to be a Death Valley-like area only massively larger. The eastern side of that mountain range is going to be totally soaked with all the rain that should have been dropped in that valley.

tilt
05-15-2010, 03:14 PM
wow... I usually just put my finger in the air and go... hmmm... deserts would be cool ... here.. ;)
nice that you do all the hard work first :)

Steel General
05-15-2010, 03:53 PM
This is interesting so far, and I am looking forward to watching it develop.