PDA

View Full Version : WIP - Ascension's Photoshop Town Tutorial Follow-Along

phatticus
06-09-2010, 10:41 AM
I am new to mapping,and Photoshop, but I was enthralled with Ascension's huge town tutorial.

http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?6536-Photoshop-Town-Tutorial

I wanted to create a thread to follow my attempt to create a town using the tutorial text, with the intention of creating a full PDF tutorial with images at the end. So, each update to this thread will be the next step (or group of steps) from the tutorial with a screen shot of the work-in-progress.

Each post will contain a snippet of the original tutorial steps that the image will implement. My comments will appear in Yellow.

Without further ado:

This is the starting image - a white background, 11" x 8.5"

phatticus
06-09-2010, 10:44 AM
TERRAIN
From the tutorial:
7. Click on the Background layer then Filter > Render > Clouds.

phatticus
06-09-2010, 10:45 AM
8. Duplicate this layer (it will be named Background copy), either use Layer > Duplicate Layer or click hold, and drag the layer to the little square within a square icon at the bottom of the layer stack.
9. Any changes that we make will be made on this layer instead of our original clouds on the Background layer.

phatticus
06-09-2010, 10:50 AM
10. Grab the Brush tool (if you see a pencil then right click on that and change it). At the top left of the screen you will see a little image of what tip you have and next to it is a little upside down triangle...click on that triangle to bring up the Brush Preset Picker. Scroll down the list to the Airbrush Soft Round 300. At the top of the screen you will see the word “Flow” and a box next to it with a number and a tiny triangle...click on the triangle and a slider will appear. Grab the slider and move it to the left until the number changes from 100% to 10%.