PDA

View Full Version : (Image Included) How to Make Shadow in GIMP for Maze

Sharpe
06-16-2010, 04:44 PM
Greetings!

Hope this is the right forum to ask this. I'm new to GIMP and image editing in general, so, please be gentle with me. :) I posted this question on GIMPTalk (http://www.gimptalk.com/forum/shadow-for-maze-searched-googled-;-image-included-t49329.html) too, but this forum is what turned me on to GIMP and seems to have the largest source of information on it that I've found so far.

Though I read a tutorial (http://binnyva.blogspot.com/2006/12/creating-shadows-in-gimp.html) on shadows and searched this forum, I didn't find what I seek.

Here is a .GIF of part of my labyrinth game:

http://i852.photobucket.com/albums/ab84/Sharpe103/GURPS/drop_shadow.gif

I made just the maze layer, white background layer, and two drop shadow layers visible and saved a copy as a .GIF so you all could see what I'm trying to accomplish.

The drop shadow layers look good, but I can't help but think there is a better way. Drop shadows are made to make the image look like it is floating above the background. I want a shadow to make the "walls" of the maze look like they are standing in three dimensions by hitting it with a light source from the north-west corner.

Is there a quick, easy way to do this, or is the drop shadow good enough? Don't get me wrong, I like the drop shadow and it's easy to use, but really, it's not technically right if you look very closely.

Or, maybe there is a way to adjust the drop shadow to get what I want?

Thanks for reading and thanks in advance for any helpful advice!

-Sharpe

OldGuy
06-16-2010, 09:38 PM
If I understand you correctly, you essentially want to erase the portion of the drop shadow that is north and west of each wall, leaving just a shadow to the south and east of each wall.