PDA

View Full Version : First Map

Slylok
06-22-2010, 10:53 AM
Hello All,

This is the beginning of my first map of one continent in my small world. I'm creating it for use in a video game. It was created using Photo Shop. Before I go to the next step I was hoping to get everyone's input on it. I understand that rivers are difficult for beginners to make look convincing so I'm mainly worried about those. I used Old Guy's tutorial on breaking up the coastline and I'm pretty happy with the overall shape. I know this is just the first step, but since I'm new at this, I'd like to take it slow and gain as much input as I can on the road to the final product.

Critique away!

Slylok
06-22-2010, 10:58 AM
I was so excited about hearing everyone's input that i forgot to attach my map... Now im trying to figure out how to do it, lol. Do I first have to upload it to a website?

Thank you for the help:)

LonewandererD
06-22-2010, 10:59 AM
Hmmm, I have one problem with the map, I think you forgot to post it :)

EDIT: No sooner had I written this when you responded first. To attach a map go to edit post on your first post and then scroll down until you see "Go Advanced", click on that, then you should see a button further down the pgae that says "manage attachments", this allows you to upload maps.

-D-

tilt
06-22-2010, 11:38 AM
well, you're off to a good start, and here are some pointers
attachments are easier recieved in jpg - cause they show directly in the browser. And look in tutorials for a river guide - but basicly
1. rivers flow by the easiest route from high to low towards the ocean
2. the only merge, they don't split
3. they don't go from ocean to ocean (as this would require perfectly flat land - canals excepted)

Slylok
06-22-2010, 04:24 PM
That was some great advice Tilt. Those three tips really made sense and I was able to put the rivers where they should go instead of just randomly branching off.