PDA

View Full Version : Tablet recommendations?

simpfan1
06-29-2010, 04:20 PM
I was thinking of purchasing a tablet over the summer and was wondering if any of you could give me recommendations?
Now I dont have much money to spare, but I can save up, the tablet isnt an urgent purchase.
And it has to be mac compatible, as that is what Im using :P

Suggest away! 8)

mearrin69
06-29-2010, 04:59 PM
Well, I'd have to recommend Wacom Intuos4. Got one a while back and it's pretty awesome. Get extra nibs, though, because they wear pretty quickly.
M

tilt
06-29-2010, 06:02 PM
I just bought a Wacom Bamboo at about (600 DKK aprox $100) - works fine for me, although I'm just getting used to it... I didn't wanna spring for the intous since I've never used a tablet before :)

simpfan1
06-29-2010, 06:08 PM
I have a cheap $100something tablet, but its a little funky
the battery dies so I have to always keep it charged, and I think people have stepped on it because its cracked and the flow is a little jittery @-@

tilt
06-29-2010, 06:10 PM
the wacom is charged by USB and the pen doesn't use batteries

simpfan1
06-29-2010, 06:17 PM
oh no mine was a wireless wacom, the tablet has a battery not the pen

I didnt even know they made pens with batteries

tilt
06-30-2010, 03:33 AM
I'm not sure they do - I just know that mine haven't one and I was surprised that it was so being new to the tablet world :)

waldronate
06-30-2010, 06:35 AM
None of the Wacom pens have batteries. Some brands of tablet have had batteries in their pens, however.

I've had a fair few Wacom tablets over the years and they've all worked well. Admittedly, I've never been able to use them for much because I lack anything resembling artistic ability. Mostly they sit on the shelf for a few years and I end up giving them away to someone who will get better use out of them. My Intuos3 sits on the shelf behind me, lonely and dusty.