PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Paris



Goratrix
06-30-2010, 11:25 AM
Hi there,

I'm a thirty and something cartographer newbie from Paris.
I learned some basics of cartography during my studies (a mastery in geography) but I'm not a good artist/drawer.

As a RPG and boardgames creator, I need to make maps sometimes.
For my new project, a swashbuckling RPG called Grand Siecle, I want to make an "Twisted Europe Map".
The thing is that Europe went through some cataclysms and has been changed : brittany was ripped apart from France and new sea opened in the Alscace/Rhur.

That's where difficulties begin for me : I have CC3 and I don't know how to import a basemap from Europe and transform it..
So any help could be useful.

I'll read the many posts here, very interesting stuff and advice already.

Thanks and sorry for the bad english, not my native langage ;-)

tilt
06-30-2010, 11:46 AM
well, welcome to the guild - can't help with CC3 but a lot of people use it inhere. And don't worry about the language - we are a lot of non-native speakers here :)
try looking through the tutorials section and post your map in the WIP section for critique and help :)

Korash
06-30-2010, 12:19 PM
First off Goratrix, Bienvenue a la Guild, the Mappiest Place on the Web. :D

If you are looking for help with CC, or any other sort of help, we have a "How do I" forum down at the bottom of the home page. You can ask your questions there. If it is CC specific you should put CC3 in the thread title and that should summon NeonKnight PDQ, and he is our resident expert on all things CC. There are others that have a very good understanding of these programs, but I think NK leads the pack.

Have fun, and look forward to seeing your work.

Steel General
06-30-2010, 12:56 PM
Welcome Aboard!

Immolate
07-01-2010, 09:41 PM
Welcome to the guild, mon ami!

NeonKnight
07-03-2010, 12:48 PM
Welcome to the Guild!!

One of the "Book & Pens" to the ;eft under my AVATAR will lead you to a short CC3 tutorial on inserting BMP files into CC3 to allow you to trace them You cannot directly manipulate a BMP file in CC3, but you CAN use it as a starting point to work from.

ravells
07-04-2010, 03:33 AM
Can CC3 import DXF or DWG files? (IIRC CC2 could although it wasn't very reliable). If it does then just google Europe DXF or Europe DWG (there are a few free files out there) and open the DXF/DWG file in CC3.

NeonKnight
07-04-2010, 01:04 PM
Can CC3 import DXF or DWG files? (IIRC CC2 could although it wasn't very reliable). If it does then just google Europe DXF or Europe DWG (there are a few free files out there) and open the DXF/DWG file in CC3.

It should, as it is on the list of Searchable File types when using the OPEN FILE option.