PDA

View Full Version : My First Attempt

Surveyor
07-19-2010, 10:04 AM
Hi, This is my first attempt at a map. The map is entirely fictional made with Gimp and InkScape.
Although this is a very basic map, I found it very difficult and this is the result of about 30 hours of work.
I would welcome criticism and in particular I have some questions that may well be answered somewhere else on this forum , but I have not yet found the answers to.
Is there a standard colour chart for elevation and features.
Is there a font for mapping symbols.
Is there some easy way to shade mountains (my attempt here is a filter/render/noise adaptation, not very scientific)
Is there a tutorial on how to to calculate scales on projections on maps

Cheers Surveyor

hohum
07-19-2010, 10:35 AM
Nice map Surveyor. I don't know if there is a standard per se, but you could use a GIMP gradient from here (http://soliton.vm.bytemark.co.uk/pub/cpt-city/totp-ggr.html).

I'm not sure about the mapping symbols right now.

Try the Swiss cartography tutorial here (http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?9703-Swiss-Cartography-Terrain-PDF), there may be another on the guild that didn't come up right away.

If you figure out something about calculating scale let me know. I still can't figure it out.

Ascension
07-19-2010, 04:31 PM