PDA

View Full Version : WIP - Ara World Map

wynn
07-26-2010, 11:27 PM
]I've been running a roleplaying campaign world that I've been creating for about 8-9 years and I've finally decided to make an honest world out of it by making a decent map for it. This is somewhat of a large project since what you see right now is only one of four continents. A lot of it is still pretty rough, some parts are done more than others mostly since I've been using what I have for my roleplaying group, and I've jumped ahead in some spots. Anyways, I hope to keep a weekly update on this thing and I'm really hoping for some constructive feedback and ideas to help me take this project forward.

As for software, I've been using photoshop.

Hope you like it thus far! Thanks :)

Radu Vlad
07-27-2010, 11:07 AM
Hey wynn, welcome and good job so far.
Your map looks quite original (from what ive seen on the site), and is has features i really enjoy.
First thing, it has a pretty clear layout, that helps distinguish things; guess its a great help for RP-ing this map. Totally love the sea - the shades, the texture, the color scheme - looks more like lagoon waters, but i love it. And VERY interesting, i love the way you rendered the mountains. If u did it in photoshop, using brushes etc, then gratz! ive been thinking of trying to do some manual shaded relief but ive thought it would be much too tedious, having to figure out the orientation of all the peaks/faces/valley for whole ranges. I really like the looks of it :)