PDA

View Full Version : A new take on Ramah's Aronbor Brushes for Gimp



hohum
08-04-2010, 09:08 PM
Hi all, I had a question about how these are looking.

27739

This is done as a .gih with a spacing of 20. The right and left are just done as individual inputs while the middle is done just dragging the brush along in a long line from upper left to right and then adding a spur in the same manner. I guess the real question is, is 20 enough spacing? Should I make a couple of different ones with different spacing? Gidde, I am guessing that yours were at 100% spacing.

The brushes were originally made by by vhailor27 here (http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?7573-Mountain-brushes-from-Ramah-s-Aronbor-map&highlight=Ramah%27s+brushes) and then as a gimp brush set by ElenaBlackRose here (http://elenablackrose101.deviantart....shes-154508609) and here (http://elenablackrose101.deviantart....shes-154523042).

This second set did not, in my opinion, address the issue of masking the mountains in the back ground. As you can see this new set achieves that.

Juggernaut1981
08-05-2010, 12:04 AM
If there was another version with "low shadow" rather than "high shadow" that would also be very useful.

Ramah
08-05-2010, 08:10 AM
They look pretty good to me. The outside ones look too spaced but the middle one looks fine.

Man, I wish PS had a feature similar to Gimp's pipe brush thingymajigs.

hohum
08-05-2010, 09:48 AM
@Juggernaut: Do you mean just the shadow on the ground or the shading on the mountainside? And would you want some, but less? Or none?

@Ramah: Yeah the outside ones don't look too swift. I had the brush set on random size and with the pipe you get a different mountain each click. The ghost image of the brush is the first in the series so it tricked me every time with brush placement. I also must confess that I did it with the touch pad on my laptop, so you get what you get. I think I'll play around with the spacing feature and post the results just to show what I mean.

[EDIT - You can change the spacing on a pipe with the scaling slider at the bottom of the brushes dialogue so I don't need to do that.]