PDA

View Full Version : Seandomhan v2.1



Sonnenfalke
09-14-2010, 08:57 AM
Hey fellows,

after reading the forum and some good comments on my first-post-map I decided to repaint my world Seandomhan (gaelish: "The Old World") - not completely but in details.
I tried to reorganize the landmass to have better prerequisites for mountains and rivers (and yeah - I fear the River Police but I learned a lot! :blush:) and the
political organization (but that later).

Yes I know ... the world (this part) has a shredded look but I dislike some of these one-isle-only worlds or the ones with too huge continents.
So one of my two problems (the other one is that (http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?11887-Realistic-Islands-form-amp-arrangement)) is the decision where to paint the mountains so that they're placed in a ... I want to say "correct geographical way". So if I look on the landmass and try to finger it out where the oceanic plate collides with a continental plate and on the other hand the collision of two continental plates - I have to capitulate because it a bit to high for me - I'm not a professor of geography. So if anyone has a good idea - please feel free to post it or mark it on my map.

So this is the 1st version of my 2nd try (1st was here (http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?11657-Seandomhan-%28working-title%29&highlight=seandomhan)) ... only white landmass and blue water without details, coasts, rivers and islands.

regards
o/

mearrin69
09-14-2010, 10:01 AM
I can't say I know much of anything about the "correct" placement of mountains. They usually come at plate boundaries, either in the form of upheaval or volcanic activity...but there are lots of exceptions, I think. I can suggest, however, that a good way to make them is using Ascension's atlas-style tutorial. There's another tutorial about making realistic mountains that involves hand-painting if you don't like that style. I like the outline of your landmasses...no complaints from me there.
M

Sonnenfalke
09-15-2010, 04:02 AM
Seandomhan v2.2

just a little correction of the landmass ... it was too thin, so I expand it a bit and change some peninsulas

Katto
09-15-2010, 05:46 PM
Much better than your first landmass, but it is still too inorganic for me:blush:. Creating the landmass is as hard as creating mountains and I normally work out 15-20 shapes until I get what i want.

Sonnenfalke
09-16-2010, 02:26 AM
I think if I put the islands on the map it would be look better *hope so*

Sonnenfalke
09-17-2010, 01:38 PM
I think its now the final version of the landmass ... I decided to change some coastline a bit. If there's nothing other thing to change I'll add the Islands on a new layer (maybe with Photoshop but at the moment with CorelDraw).

Sonnenfalke
09-20-2010, 02:32 PM
I've searched an option in Photoshop CS5 to fill the layer with a texture but didn't find anything. So I tried it in CorelDraw but I'm not really happy with this.
The other thing ... the shelf is a bad thing too (done with Photoshop) but it looks like a shiny glow ;(

Ascension
09-20-2010, 06:40 PM
The way that I get around my shelf looking like a glow is to select the landmass layer, on an empty layer under the land layer I fill that with white, then blur it out a bunch, then grab the smudge tool and smudge out some areas to make it look more natural. As to filling a layer with a texture, use a pattern and hit Edit - Fill - where it says "Use" scroll down to Pattern = find the pattern that you want and click OK. Of course you can only use a pattern that you have previously saved as a pattern (Edit - Define Pattern).

Sonnenfalke
09-21-2010, 05:11 AM
Thx Ascension

I tried it ... maybe the color doesn't match at the moment. I've also tried the gradient overlay from your atlas style tutorial but it seems that the landmass is a bit too big for that ... the land with snow or desert are more in the north and south, so I only used the olive color (#DAC094) but I'm not sure with the color context of landmass, shelf and water ... it looks a bit peculiar :((

Sonnenfalke
09-22-2010, 10:56 AM
A new day and a new try with the Atlas Style ;)

I colored the water darker and reduce the shelf a bit and made it darker too. The gradient overlay of PS CS5 is very nice and I'm a bit too noobish for a perfect result - but I'm learning every day. Hoping the landmass and color is now fine so I can put the islands on the map with a new layer.

Sonnenfalke
09-24-2010, 04:10 AM
Hey guys,

some problem ... I want to add mountains on my map. They should be there where I painted the brown lines on the landmass but I'm not sure if they are in a "realistic style". In the south of the main landmass there is a "broken" mountain. I need this interruptions because its a problem if the mountainline devides this area in two parts. The second problem is in the middle where two mountainlines are nearly concave to each other. The story demands a corridor between those mountains but I'm not a geological expert.

Any suggestions?

Ascension
09-24-2010, 05:38 PM
There are always such things as gaps, passes, and saddle-backs in mountain ranges that allow folks to travel through them much easier. For that "corridor" thingy just make it a long broad river valley or glacial valley.

mearrin69
09-24-2010, 06:11 PM
Was just watching "Wild China" on Netflix. I guess there's a series of parallel mountains running north-south in the Himelayas (sp?) that funnel warm, moist air up from the Indian Ocean to create a lush jungle environment nestled in some mountain valley. Supposedly the origin of the Shangri-la myth. Some botanist dude went there at the end of the 19th century and brought back a bunch of plants that became all the rage in Europe (and the US...kudzoo, ick). He was a big hit with all of the flower-crazy folks back then.

If weird stuff like that works in the real world I guess it can work in your fantasy world :)
M

Sonnenfalke
10-13-2010, 05:43 AM
So ... long time ago :)

I tried nearly all Mountain Tutorials here and decided to use the nice "Terrain creation tutorial" from "pasis (http://www.cartographersguild.com/member.php?4877-pasis)". Here is my first try to rise a mountain surrounded by a bit forest.

Any comments - things that could be better? (I have 5 layers: 1x background, 3x mountains (high/med/low) and 1x forest like the tutorial says)

Marken4
10-13-2010, 07:03 AM
I wouldn't give the the forest such a blurry edge. I think a scattered hard edge would look better.

Steel General
10-13-2010, 07:53 AM
I think he blurred forest edge is okay, but I would try to break it up a bit so it's not such a smooth line.

Sonnenfalke
12-16-2010, 02:13 AM
Long time nothing to hear and see from me but I was busy in studying cartographer's tutorials ^^

Now I can present you the latest version of my map ... It's a try of Pasis' mapstyle.
At the moment missing are Towns, Roads, Fields, Names and the final touch of hills by the rivers and maybe a stronger shelf.
But I'm a newbie in mapmaking so please be nice to me ;)

But my greatest problem is - I can't save my map with Photoshop CS5 as JPG ... due to lack of RAM ;(
The PSD-file is 1,43 GB and I only have 2 GB of RAM in my PC. Any Idea how to cheat Photoshop without buying more RAM? ^^

Ascension
12-16-2010, 09:11 AM
Flatten the image before saving. If you have a bunch of layers showing in the layer palette PS chugs and chugs and each of those layers adds a huge chunk to the memory load. So if you flatten it before saving it should work just fine..then undo the flatten and resave as psd. I think it's under Layer - Flatten Image at the top of the screen.

Sonnenfalke
12-16-2010, 09:13 AM
And here two pictures for our RIVER POLICE ... hope all is flowing right

RecklessEnthusiasm
12-16-2010, 10:25 AM
Ascension - Great advice! Also, one of the awesome features in the newer versions of Photoshop is the 'smart layers' option. It lets you 'flatten' a set of layers and then it functions as a single layer which you can apply all the non-destructive filters to, but you can open it up and re-edit the bits. When it displays as a single layer though, it displays the 'flattened' version and saves tonnes of memory. Saved my butt a number of times, as I have recently been working on a lot of poster-sizes D&D maps at 300DPI on my crummy laptop.

Oh, as a side note, when you get up past 2GB file size, you can save as .psb format, which is the photoshop 'large document format.' It won't let you save files bigger than 2GB as a PDS, but PSB works the same without the size limit.

Sonnenfalke
12-16-2010, 10:40 AM
many thanks ... that helped a lot to save the image ^^