PDA

View Full Version : September-October Challenge: Roots of Hip Hop

RjBeals
09-22-2010, 04:55 PM
My New York map will showcase the birth of an art form - rap. Now I'm not stereotyping, but I have a feeling most of you in the forum do not like rap. I'm an avid music lover - not so much rap anymore, but man did I use to be. In 1984, I was a ten year old white kid in the suburbs, with my fat laces and boom box - I was b-boy fresh. My first 2 cassette tapes that I bought and cherished were New Edition and Fat Boys. Ha.

New York is where rap was born. I want to have an urban vibe to the map, sort of african feel - and cartoony in a sense. I'm just getting started on this - but hope to have a winner when I'm done.

* This map is reduced just for a quick reference.

Ascension
09-22-2010, 05:05 PM
I was 14 in 84 and I remember that it took me a long time to learn how to windmill. At this time roller skating was still the main thing here so our crew would bust out the moves in the center of the rink and battle crews from other schools. I haven't been into rap since Bone Thugs n Harmony back in like 93. Love your idea and it's be really cool to see this as sort of a birthmap of the famous NY rappers. I was thinking about doing punk rock clubs but there's only one that ever really mattered...CBGBs, so that'd be a quick map :)

mearrin69
09-22-2010, 06:12 PM
Great and unique idea. It never would have occurred to me...but then I'm not a rap fan at all. It's not the music form just most of the content. I have appreciated the occasional Eminem song and Walk This Way was awesome (besides, it brought back Aerosmith).
M

jtougas
09-22-2010, 09:05 PM
That's a great idea!! maybe it can be a series..I'll handle the San Fransisco Thrash scene...:)

Jaxilon
09-22-2010, 11:14 PM
I like it...only it looks like mine. LOL - only because we are both doing NY :)

Steel General
09-23-2010, 07:00 AM
Neat idea...even if I'm not much of a rap music fan. :)

tilt
09-23-2010, 09:15 AM