PDA

View Full Version : the capital city of Naim

leonid
11-24-2007, 04:33 PM
Hi, folks--

Newbie here. I've been doing a good bit of lurking lately and decided to post a city map I've drawn for a story I'm writing. Technically, it's a finished product (since I haven't worked on it in several months), but as there's always room for improvement, I thought I'd post it as a work-in-progress to get some feedback.

The city of Naim (pronounced NYE-im) is built on the limestone cliffs at the mouth of the fast-moving Great River. At several spots in the town the river falls through the limestone into the caves below (that's why the river disappears here and there).

The river was drawn in PS, the buildings in Sketchup.

Your comments are always welcome.

Thanks!

-Leonid

pyrandon
11-24-2007, 05:17 PM
Hey, Leonid, thanks for posting this! I really like the buildings--and I'd be interested to know how you achieved them in SketchUp (so I can copy you ;)

I also like the compass rose's colors alternating with the river. Well done.

The overarching visual effect of the map does confuse me a tad: the parchment and ripped edges imply a photograph of an old, authentic map, while conversely the actual line art is so clean and perfect that they appear computer-generated. Neither style is wrong, of course, but together they appear to ride the fence. Did you have an intended objective for this map? Answering that may help in offering advice.

I'm glad you posted!

leonid
11-24-2007, 06:30 PM
Thanks, Don! You're absolutely right about the conflicting styles. That was something I completely overlooked. I can't believe I missed something so obvious. Yowtch!

The compass rose was just put on a separate layer whose blending mode was set to...well, something I can't remember. Maybe Overlay.

As to how I got the buildings, the answer is simple: a LOT of work. Hours turned into days turned into weeks. That said, I am a slow study, so it probably shouldn't have taken quite so long. :)