PDA

View Full Version : How do I make mountains blend into the grassland in CC3?



Carto-noob
10-17-2010, 10:32 PM
I just got CC3 and am working on my first map using the video tutorials on ProFantasy's site. They do not contain an answer to this question, however... I can't get my mountains to blend in in a satisfactory way. Any advanced users have any tips? They look too stark on the land and are too piled on top of each other. I'll try to post a pic below...

30216

I think that worked... sorry I'm new around here lol. :blush:

Sharpe
10-17-2010, 10:43 PM
Just like any object you put on the map, you may have to send it to the back. I don't use the program, but that's certainly what's going on here.

Carto-noob
10-17-2010, 11:03 PM
Thanks, Sharpe. :) I fixed the layer problem... Now I just need to figure out how to blend them with the grassland so they look less fake.

30217

Anoril
10-18-2010, 06:53 AM
Hi!
I don't know other way than placing forest or hills at the bottom of your mountains...In CC3, there is no way to "disolve" a symbol. You can try playing with sheet effects (like border transparency and so) but I got fallout with symbols.

Good luck!

Paul

Carto-noob
10-18-2010, 12:02 PM
Hmm... i might have to play around with it. I know I've seen the technique on someone else's map on here to blend them in, but I don't know how he did it. :/ I guess I'll have to dig through the old CC3 threads to find something useful...

Midgardsormr
10-18-2010, 12:21 PM
Experiment with some of the sheet effects. My computer's busy rendering a Maya scene right now, so I can't open CC3 up to look, but there might be some kind of edge blur effect in there that might do something.

Though with the isometric mountains, that will probably not work out so well, since it will also blur the sides and peaks. Hmmm… Try adding a contour beneath your mountains and slightly larger than the area they cover, filled with the same grey, and blur that. You might also want to play with the transparency a bit so that the grassland texture comes through. Or you could open that texture in the Gimp, desaturate it, then fill the grey contour with that texture instead of a solid color.

Carto-noob
10-18-2010, 01:38 PM
Thanks, Midgardsormr. I was able to apply a blur to a countour underneath the mountain range and it looks much better now. I'm sure it could use some improvement, but that'll probably come in time, lol. For now, I'm satisfied with them... Now, to use the technique on my other mountain ranges. :D

30227

RecklessEnthusiasm
10-18-2010, 01:55 PM
I've always found that splattering some trees around the base of the mountain is a good way of making things "blend" without actually blending: Boslok's Cartographer's Choice (http://www.cartographersguild.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=24314&d=1272741672) map is a good example.

Carto-noob
10-19-2010, 10:12 PM
I added some forests and some rivers to it. Anyone see any obvious problems?

30266

Midgardsormr
10-20-2010, 02:10 AM
Not a problem, per se, but I think the forest symbols should be smaller. Maybe 2/3 to half that size, and nestle some right up against the base of some of the mountains.

Also, I forget how to do it, but there's a way to convert the rivers to use rounded corners instead of the sharp ones you've got now. You might also fractalize them one more time. And the coastline, too.

When you're laying in your mountains, be careful not to put two of the same symbol right next to each other. For the most part they look good, but there are a couple of places where I notice the repeats.

NeonKnight
10-20-2010, 01:02 PM
OK, the first thing I see, is some of the mountains that should be 'behind' other mountains are actually in front of them. CC3 works by placing symbols in a TOP -> DOWN/BACK -> FRONT order. To do this quickly, simply FREEZE all layers but the MOUNTAINS layer (where the SYMBOLS for the Mountains should be located. Then from the drop down menus select SYMBOLS -> SORT SYMBOLS IN MAP, then select all the mountains and choose OK. This will allow the software to place the symbols in the TOP -> DOWN/BACK -> FRONT order.

To make you rivers (and lake if you want) more curvy and less straight, Right click on the FRACTALISE symbol (located on left side toolbar, shows a STRAIGHT LINE to JAGGED LINE) and select the STRAIGHT TO CURVED option. Then select you rivers and select OK. This make them more rounded and not a bounch of straight lines.

For more info on SHEETS and LAYERS chec his link: http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?2549-Award-Winner-Basic-CC3-Concepts-explained&highlight=sort

Carto-noob
10-30-2010, 11:11 PM
Ok guys, Thanks a lot. I appreciate all the advice y'all are giving me. I never knew about freezing layers before, and every time I'd go to change something, it'd change a crapload of other random stuff i didn't want it to. I scaled down an entire landmass thatway accidentally... lol.

I have a question regarding Madgardsomr's advice to scale down my forests, however. Is there an easy way to scale down every symbol I place for a given duration? I tried placing the forests and then scaling them all down at once, but that moves them and they end up on top of other stuff... I know there's an easy fix, but I don't know. it. Thanks in advance! :D

NeonKnight
10-31-2010, 03:51 PM
Yes, there is. Multiple ways actually.

First is to manually do it. With the symbol selected, press & hold the CTRL key. Moving the mouse UP or DOWN will change the size of the Symbol. Of course, this also means that EVERY symbol you select AFTER this scale change will be sized to this new scale (symbols already placed will not change).

To return symbols to their original scale is the second method of scaling. RIGHT+CLICK the mouse will bring up the SYMBOLS PARAMETERS menu. You will see such options as SCALE (X & Y), ROTATION, and other options. (And of course the HELP option :)) Of importance here is the SET NORMAL button. Selecting this will return the symbol to it's original (for the map) scale, often this is 1 in the X:Y Scale.