PDA

View Full Version : Hello out there!

thomryng
10-19-2010, 05:14 PM
Good monring!

My name is Thom Ryng, and I'm a game designer and amateur map-maker. I use Photoshop pretty exclusively, but I'm always keen on finding new and better (and easier) ways of working.

I stumbled here in my quest to improve the look and feel of my maps, and I have to say I'm already a little overwhelmed with the amount of talent and skill here.

Here are some samples of my maps:

cheers,

thom

Ascension
10-19-2010, 05:37 PM
Not bad at all. All I can really say is that you might want to get more creative fonts (but still legible) and the mountain and hill symbols repeat too often so you might want to make up a few more to break up the repeats. Otherwise these are top-notch political maps. Nice job, man.

NeonKnight
10-19-2010, 06:35 PM
Welcome to the Guild!

Nice maps there!

Steel General
10-19-2010, 08:20 PM
Welcome Aboard and thanks for sharing some of your work!

thomryng
10-19-2010, 08:53 PM
Thanks for the kind words. I look forward to learning a lot. Just started my first tutorial...

mearrin69
10-19-2010, 11:30 PM
Welcome to the Guild! Nice maps, have some rep!
M

thomryng
10-20-2010, 09:58 PM
Welcome to the Guild! Nice maps, have some rep!
M

Cheers!

My very first rep, huzzah! :)

Halo of Gnats
10-21-2010, 12:10 AM
Hi Thom,

Disregard my reply from the other thread. The color scheme of the second piece reminds me a little of first edition Axis and Allies. It does, however,
also remind me of older 70's maps with strong regional and political delineation as was common then. I like them.
Good on you for the rep.
Your quote reflects my current mood these days. Thanks for the introduction. Look forward to more of your work.

Namasté,
~Tim

P.S.: Were these pieces created in photoshop?

ravells
10-21-2010, 11:58 AM