PDA

View Full Version : Greetings All!

Halo of Gnats
10-20-2010, 03:25 PM
Hello Cartographers.

My name is Tim. I stumbled upon a link to this site researching fantasy map-making software
and felt like a dwarf next to a new ore deposit. I've been an rpg'er since...well, 1983.
Pen and paper is still my favorite, but there are such lush and/or amazingly detailed
maps out there using software that I wanted to try outlining districts for a city
a friend and I are creating for an upcoming campaign of 4ed. D&D. Lots of ideas are
written down, with more each week as we research what makes a (fantasy) city
a city. I'm looking into 3-D rendering, but currently I've picked up Gimp and Inkwell,
since the price is unbeatable.

I am returning student with a dual major in Spanish and English, emphasis
in translation; and when not trying to 'kill' my party, I consume a lot of poetry.
Ultimately, I'm brand new to cartography software, so I will be spelunking the tutorials
here and at youtube, until I'm ready to start posting works-in-progress.

Thank you for making and populating this site; I'm off with my canary and lantern.

Namasté,
~Tim (Halo of Gnats)

Aenigma
10-20-2010, 05:01 PM
Welcome to the realm!

Halo of Gnats
10-20-2010, 05:17 PM
Thank you Aenigma, I appreciate the welcome.

thomryng
10-20-2010, 09:02 PM
Welcome!

I'm new here myself, but there are a TON of resources here for learning the cartographer's art.

cheers,

thom

thomryng
10-20-2010, 09:03 PM
... and can I just say I love the Borges quote!

t

Halo of Gnats
10-20-2010, 11:03 PM
Hello Thom,

Thank you for the welcome. I'm glad you like the quote; it fits all things we do in life
with a passion; but in this site, it particularly lends itself to Borges' notions. I've enjoyed looking
at your Cruenti Dei series; the style is very much likened to 70's political maps I remember as a kid.
I like the colorization of regions and borders along with the easily understood symbols. The partitioned water