PDA

View Full Version : Non-map art

Ramah
11-01-2010, 08:36 AM
Hey there,

Thought I'd post this image that I worked on over the last few days. I needed a break from mapping so I thought I'd try my hand at doing a portrait which I've never tried digitally before.

It's of Zhang Ziyi from the film "Hero" and I have to admit I had a tough time with the skin tones.

Crayons
11-01-2010, 08:41 AM
Marvellous! It doesn't look digital to me, which I guess is the whole point!
I wish I could draw faces... and hands... and... well... anything really. Sob.

tilt
11-01-2010, 08:57 AM
looks fantastic ramah, love the hair ... and I'm with Crayons in wishing I could draw like that :)

ravells
11-01-2010, 09:00 AM
Oh my word, that's absolutely gorgeous! Could you tell us a little about the workflow you used?

Steel General
11-01-2010, 09:00 AM
Very nice!!!

Ramah
11-01-2010, 09:12 AM
Oh my word, that's absolutely gorgeous! Could you tell us a little about the workflow you used?

Sure, Ravs. This afternoon when I've got my boy off to nursery I'll post a few images showing some of the layers etc. Although as I say, this is my first image of this type and I'm certainly no expert so I imagine much of my workflow could be improved no end.

tilt
11-01-2010, 09:14 AM
still I agree, seeing what you've done might give us a hint of where to start when we make our stick-figures *lol*

Redrobes
11-01-2010, 09:53 AM
Yup... this would be the reason I get trounced in the compos... thats sooo good.

torstan
11-01-2010, 10:26 AM
Beautiful work - love the detail in the secondary lighting. And the hair is great!

Clercon
11-01-2010, 11:03 AM
Great picture! Really amazing!

Ramah
11-01-2010, 11:20 AM
Thanks all.

Ok, here is a little run through of the image as per Ravell's request.