PDA

View Full Version : FT Pro + Photoshop + Bryce Goodness



ravells
01-06-2011, 12:00 PM
I'd forgotten how easy it is to make 3d maps using FT Pro, Photoshop and Bryce. Example below.

All you need to do is make your planet in FT Pro, use a square projection (e.g. Mercator) and export the bump map.
Load the bump map as a terrain image in Bryce.
Then export altititude and Gaia shaded maps from FT Pro, bring into photoshop and make them look how you want, add text etc.
Use that as the diffuse material in Bryce for the terrain and Bob's your uncle.

tilt
01-06-2011, 12:34 PM
wow - bob's my uncle... I hope he's a rich american uncle then :) ... sounds easy - never played with FT Pro .. or bryce - but I like the result - I'm guessing you can work with high resolution as well?

ravells
01-06-2011, 12:38 PM
Sure, but higher resolutions take longer to render in Bryce.

Diamond
01-06-2011, 01:17 PM
I actually DO have an Uncle Bob. :D

I'd really like to try out all these different programs one day; they produce pretty cool results.

Greason Wolfe
01-06-2011, 01:36 PM
Sweet!!! I've been trying to do that with Terragen, but getting the coloring right is such a nightmare.

GW

jtougas
01-06-2011, 03:26 PM
Very Very Nice.. :)

Djekspek
01-06-2011, 03:27 PM
thanks for posting! this wil make live so much easier :D (I had FT pro for such a long time but not doing anything with it lately... but I'm gonne brush this off seeing this sweetness) cheers!

Ascension
01-06-2011, 05:08 PM
Bryce always drove me nuts and I could never get rid of the blueishness in Terragen. Maybe I need to bite the bullet and try out FT again.