PDA

View Full Version : How to export parts of a map



axehigh
02-06-2011, 03:07 PM
Hi,

I have been away from CC3 for almost 2 years now, and I want to revamp a map i was working on. The problem is that I was chewing over too much. I started drawing the entire campaign, but should really just have concentrated about the area I am actually playing. The map has been a bit too big so i was wondering if there is an easy way of exporting parts of a map to a new map?

From:
http://axehigh.com/pictures/3355loganholm_campaign.jpg

To:
http://axehigh.com/pictures/3356loganholm_regional.jpg

Thanks.

Gidde
02-06-2011, 07:11 PM
Hopefully NeonKnight or one of our other CC experts will drop in and correct me if I'm wrong here, but if I remember correctly this is actually VERY easy. Save the whole thing as a new file. Delete off the stuff you don't want. Zoom in. Voila! New map!

axehigh
02-07-2011, 07:39 AM
The problem is that big parts of the coastline is connected to the bigger map. If possible, all i need to split up the coastlines?

Gidde
02-07-2011, 11:25 AM
For the coastline, draw a line across where you want your new map to end (make sure it *crosses* the old coastline on both ends). here's where my memory gets fuzzy, you want either the break tool, the intersect tool or both. Then delete the extra bits of the coastline and the line you drew. Once you have a clean new coastline, select both pieces and multipoly them together.

NeonKnight
02-08-2011, 11:44 AM
Well sir, there are a couple of ways to go about this, neither of which is simple. The Simplest of the methods is to SAVE AS RECTANGULAR PNG/BMP option and then trace over top. The nice aspect of this, is you can make you rivers more meandering, the coastline less smooth etc. This is much like how our World Maps get more detail the smaller the depicted area gets.

The more difficult method involves saving the whole work as a Second map (i.e. MAP-2 or some other naming convention), deleting everything that would fall outside the new border, using the SPLIT function on your coastlines, redrawing and connecting for the border areas, and then using the MULTIPOLY tool to make into a new polygon.

axehigh
02-08-2011, 05:38 PM
For the coastline, draw a line across where you want your new map to end (make sure it *crosses* the old coastline on both ends). here's where my memory gets fuzzy, you want either the break tool, the intersect tool or both. Then delete the extra bits of the coastline and the line you drew. Once you have a clean new coastline, select both pieces and multipoly them together.

Thanks! I tried something like this. Now I have my map in a "cut out form". Two issues remains,
a) the new land masses which i have cut out are on top of everything else.
b) is it possible to set a new size for the map?

NeonKnight
02-09-2011, 01:43 AM
Yes, by using the SCALE button to the left side (default location), looks like Square to Rectangle symbol on a button.

axehigh
02-09-2011, 03:03 AM
Yes, by using the SCALE button to the left side (default location), looks like Square to Rectangle symbol on a button.

Thanks.

Campaign Cartographer is great, the only thing is that the learning curve is way too steep. Been away mapping for 1-2 years and I feel like a pup again. Looking forward to many frustrating and rewarding hours mapping :-)