PDA

View Full Version : [WIP] New Continent Map

nichollsr
02-22-2011, 04:28 PM
Hi Folks,

Im having my usual once a year trip into the world of map making using PS. Normally i prefer to use CC3 but its about time i really got to grips with PS and make it work for me. Ive been reading through the Saderan tutorial (which is excellent) and this is a result of that tutorial.

First post is my base map. What i want to do is post a map after each section of the tutorial is complete and see how it develops.

Regards....

njordys
02-22-2011, 04:35 PM
Very nice shape on that map. Looking forward to see the final result :)

nichollsr
02-22-2011, 04:57 PM
Thanks. Its about my 5th attempt to get a shape i really like.

Gidde
02-22-2011, 07:02 PM
I always struggle with that, too. Looking good so far :)

nichollsr
02-23-2011, 12:49 AM
OK I have my map in terms of terrain etc. Can anyone suggest a good way to make fancy dots etc for towns ? Roads etc ? I am pretty much a complete novice when using PS so id appreciate it if anyone can point me to a good tutorial if possible.

Ascension
02-23-2011, 01:05 AM
Well for towns all you need is the pencil tool - use a tip that is either round or square and varying size means smaller town. For roads, just use a 1-pixel tip and draw a squiggly line between two dots.

Troedel
02-23-2011, 01:58 PM
I like the shape and I like the saederan tutorial very much. For roads I use a dottet line. Somewhere in the brush settings you can adjust spacing. The result is an evenly dotted Line. CC on the map is that the rivers are very straight and donīt always seem to follow the terrain elevation.

nichollsr
02-23-2011, 03:09 PM
Thanks guys for the feedback and advice so far. I'm playing around with the rivers as im also learning to use the tool so these are probably going to chance somewhat. When ive modified and adjusted I will post an update. I want to get the base terrain looking reasonable before i add towns etc.

Gidde
02-23-2011, 05:10 PM