PDA

View Full Version : Bailiwan in color

robb75067
03-31-2011, 11:52 PM
This is my first attempt at a color map so many thanks to all of those who posted the tutorials on this site. I would appreciate all of the criticism I can get!

Ryan K
04-01-2011, 12:59 AM
Love a big map :) Looks fantastic

Sapiento
04-01-2011, 03:35 AM
Looks fantastic!

Tigon
04-01-2011, 04:37 AM
For a first it's bloody amazing! Great work.

Ascension
04-01-2011, 05:27 PM
Good job, man. The presentation looks great.

robb75067
04-01-2011, 05:39 PM
Thanks all. Any thoughts on how to improve it?

jtougas
04-01-2011, 06:06 PM
I'd leave it alone and call it Great!! :)

Jaxilon
04-01-2011, 06:12 PM
This is just excellent. Even more so as a first map. I really like it.

Ascension
04-02-2011, 12:07 AM
If I were to suggest anything: first I'd taper the rivers instead of them being the same width all the way to the end. Minor thing, happens all the time. Second, might throw in some other colors like rust, orange, dark brown - everything's green, light green, or tan. But those colors have to be tied to the terrain and since the terrain isn't all that defined then it's hard to place the colors correctly. This is also a minor thing and, for this style, probably useless so you can ignore it :) Third, the mountains are all the same - they look more like dunes or hills so I'd definitely get some more definition into the mountains. This is the only thing that I think that needs attention. So you can throw out the first and second things, if you want, as they are more pointers than anything but the mountains need a bit o work to bring them out more. All in all, as I said earlier, it looks really nice and easy on the eyes.

robb75067
04-02-2011, 01:00 PM