PDA

View Full Version : Hello all

eleran
01-27-2008, 12:37 PM
I am brand new to CC3 and mapping in general. I would like to learn to use CC3 to make maps and other things for my RPGs. I just bought the program yesterday, so I am VERY new. All advice is appreciated. Hopefully, one day I can get to the point where I can be giving advice to newcomers as well.

ravells
01-27-2008, 01:48 PM
Hi eleran, and welcome to the Guild!

I don't use CC3 myself, but all the users of it give the same advice: Follow the tutorials before you do anything else!

Feel free to post up the results here!

ravs

pyrandon
01-27-2008, 03:55 PM
Welcome, eleran! We have some amazing CC users here, so be sure to post those questions and attempts--you're sure to get great advice!

Once again, welcome!

NeonKnight
01-27-2008, 06:50 PM
Welcome.

I am a seasoned pro (in my mind at least ;)), at the whole CC3 thing.

If you bought the software, and I am assuming you got it via download, you will find in the:

profantasy>CC3>documentation folder a PDF called CC3 essentials. This is a 40 page PDF that will step you through the process of making both a simple overland map, and a simpe dungeon map.

If you have any questions, please post here.

eleran
01-28-2008, 01:53 PM
Thanx for the friendly greetings. I started the tutorial in the essentials pdf last night, but got so frustrated switching back and forth I decided to wait til tonight after I printed it out here at work.

eleran
01-28-2008, 02:03 PM
I do have a couple of questions to start.

I have a hand drawn map I want to digitize using CC3. Can I scan it in and use it for tracing purposes, or I do I just need to recreate it as faithfully as possible freehand?