PDA

View Full Version : Gergia - Lancelot Schaubert's World

lanceschaubert
04-07-2011, 12:34 PM
This site's awesome.

Here's the map of my world broken down into three types (1) regular (2) the cultures of the world overlay (3) an inverted/gradient one for nighttime.

Basically I worked on this for six years. Since I'm no true artist, and had no pad (only a broken lazer mouse that wouldn't stay still), I had to zoom in until my scree = 40px or so, and used a 1px brush on most of it. Tedious. Grueling. Painful work for someone whose first language is not the brush or the pencil, but the pen. The initial outline was inked, scanned in, then traced over. Mostly photoshop. The book's the funner, easier part for me - it comes naturally.

The map wasn't an option. It just had to be done:

enjoy.

sensawunda
04-07-2011, 02:57 PM
I love the incredible amount of detail. Just thinking up all of the feature names must have taken forever.

Ascension
04-07-2011, 04:04 PM
I can totally sympathize with the pixel editing with a crappy mouse - that's how I used to work because I was afraid of my tablet (it called me names and stole my lunch money). But I think that what you have here is a real winner; very nice. My vote would have been for the delta so I went with my second, the forests. Mtns aren't too shabby either.

jtougas
04-07-2011, 04:18 PM
Incredible. Excellent work :)

Ryan K
04-07-2011, 06:17 PM
I voted for the mountains, but only for the lack of being able to vote for the font :)

lanceschaubert
04-08-2011, 11:39 AM
I love the incredible amount of detail. Just thinking up all of the feature names must have taken forever.

Thanks!