PDA

View Full Version : Software wishes

wlievens
07-15-2011, 04:50 AM
Hello,

Love this forum, I've been visiting it every few days for the last half year or so.
I'm not much of an artist but I'm a pretty decent software engineer.

So I was wondering, is there any mapping software (in the widest sense possible) that doesn't exist yet, or that exists in a really crappy or really overpriced form?

I've got some ideas in my head but since I'm not an awesome map maker like many guys here, I don't really know the market well.

Any ideas for what needs building?

Greets!
Wouter

tilt
07-15-2011, 06:37 AM
hmmm... I think its hard to come up with something completely new - but that doesn't mean that one cant do existing things better :) ... a thing my GM asked for this tuesday was an android app to keep track of initiative an hitpoints in D&D (he has an asus eee tablet) - maybe apps would be the way to go? :)

I'd like a plugin for photoshop that could simulate the pibebrush-function from GIMP - I hate that photoshop don't do colored brushes cause then I can't take for instance a mountain and brush a range with it, cause the greys are semitransparent.

wlievens
07-15-2011, 08:07 AM
Okay, here's an idea of mine:

A grid-based tool where you can draw your rooms, select floor materials, and then it generates an image of the floormap with procedural textures. Meaning, every floor tile is different.

For instance:

tilt
07-15-2011, 08:31 AM
sounds nice, always good to avoid tiling (except on tiles ;)) - just be sure to add curves and of course the option of adding elements (chairs, stairs and crosshairs... ok.. maybe not the last one) ;)

wlievens
07-15-2011, 08:44 AM
I've seen some of your room maps. They always seem to align perfectly to the grid. Is that the rule or is it the exception?

ravells
07-15-2011, 09:39 AM
If you want a real challenge, how about a program that makes procedural cities?