PDA

View Full Version : sketchy charcoal

feanaaro
08-04-2011, 06:16 AM
while trying to finalise my other map (FT+photoshop) I did this just with PS, for a quick distraction.
It's some of pasis' tutorial, just in greyscale.

jfrazierjr
08-04-2011, 07:23 AM
That's quite cool! Do you plan to add to this? I would like to see something like this monochrome scheme with a slight iso perspective if your up for it....

My one complaint(which is just me and very minor) would be that I would like the outer coastal "glow" be less regular. To me, it really stands out against the very subtle texture of the sea...

feanaaro
08-04-2011, 08:02 AM
You are right about the glow. I should do that by hand perhaps, or is there a way to "randomise" it?
Notice that I am not good with PS, just learning, so many things that may be obvious to experienced users I don't know.
I would like to do it isometrically, but I don't know how, except by drawing by hand, something I am exceedingly bad at.

jfrazierjr
08-04-2011, 08:11 AM
You are right about the glow. I should do that by hand perhaps, or is there a way to "randomise" it?
Notice that I am not good with PS, just learning, so many things that may be obvious to experienced users I don't know.
I would like to do it isometrically, but I don't know how, except by drawing by hand, something I am exceedingly bad at.

I don't know PS, so can't give specific help...

I assume you used a stroke on a path or selection? I know in GIMP since you can stroke with a brush, you can set jitter which makes the brush move closer and away from the stroked path as it moves around. Another possibility is size jitter....

I actually wonder if perhaps a diffusion pattern might not work well, especially if there is jitter along the path and jitter on the brush size. I just have no idea how one would do that type of thing...

feanaaro
08-04-2011, 08:48 AM
No, it is just an inner glow, set to a dark grey color, applied to the sea layer.

Moe
08-04-2011, 09:04 AM