PDA

View Full Version : Handdrawn and watercolored map of Reykjavik - Iceland.

borgarmynd
09-06-2011, 05:08 PM
Hey there

This is my first post here - awesome site btw.

This is a handdrawn and watercolored map that Ive been working on for about 3 years
along with 4 of my friends. We published it last spring as a foldable map. The map can
also be seen in much more detail at : www.reykjavikcentermap.com

Tell us what you think :) 38320

Ascension
09-06-2011, 05:16 PM
I always thought Iceland was a cold and forbidding place but this looks happy and cheery. :) Looks superb, I always like mature colors and well-done line work. Very nice.

Hugo Solis
09-06-2011, 05:40 PM
Wow, very impresive hand-made work! May I ask what's thye original size of your sheet?

Clercon
09-06-2011, 06:43 PM
That looks really nice, great job :-)

borgarmynd
09-06-2011, 06:53 PM
Thanks guys :)

Were a group of architects acutally. We werent expecting any job offers after graduation in 2010, so I presented an
idea to a few of my classmates about making a detailed illustration of our city. We started out by making a bunch of
3d models based on official house plans. We then made pencil drawing which were then watercolored.

To your question: Each building block on the map is actually an a3 watercoloring, which makes the size of the total
map uhhhh.......ridiculous, since there are a total of 183 a3 sheets. We got permit this summer to hang up a 5 meter
wide version, printed on canvas. It was situated in downtown Reykjavik, at a very busy pedestrian corner.

Snorri r

Coyotemax
09-07-2011, 07:27 AM
that totally makes we want to go visit and wander the city for a few weeks.

[i tried running that idea past the wife. It's been awhile since she glared at me like that..*wither* ]

[edit - i just checked out the fullsize one. and then realized i could zoom in. HOLY CARP THATS AWESOME]