PDA

View Full Version : My own custom world generating heightmap software

JosMetadi
09-20-2011, 03:28 PM
For my own enjoyment, I've been writing a piece of software to procedurally generate worlds.

The features so far:
Very loosely simulates tectonic faults
Generates fractal terrain (diamond square algorithm) that combines with the faults
Generates random island/continents (fractal radius)
Loosely Simulates river erosion (still needs improvement)
Simulates climate (based on latitude, earth-type prevailing winds, altitude, humidity, and proximity to ocean)

The project is written entirely from scratch in VB6 (no plugins, libraries, etc). It hasn't been optimized at all yet, so it takes a couple of minutes to run through the whole generation process. I have been very inspired by the Shamus Young's Terrain and Project Frontier blog entries (http://www.shamusyoung.com/twentysidedtale/?cat=66)

My wishlist
3D viewing (I have no experience with 3D programming or textures)
Zooming (generating a deterministic closeup of a particular region of a world map on the fly)
Near instantaneous world generation (probably impossible)

I'd like to hear your input on how the results looks so far, on what would be the most beneficial things to add to the simulation, etc.

Thanks,
Tim

JosMetadi
09-20-2011, 04:08 PM
Two more generated worlds

cantab
09-20-2011, 05:43 PM
Visually they're fairly nice, if standard.

The maps won't work on a sphere, which is a problem for world maps. Since you're coding from scratch, if you can figure out how to generate your terrain on a sphere that would be an advantage. An alternative approach may to generate a continent at a time then place it on the world map reprojecting as appropriate.

I can see some arc-like artefacts in the topography.

A known issue of most random terrain generators is mountains being too central. If you can reproduce situations like the Andes where appropriate that would be great.