PDA

View Full Version : No Talent Newbie

bardsandsages
11-17-2011, 01:27 PM
*Waves*

Greetings and salutations. My name is Julie Ann Dawson, owner of Bards and Sages Publishing. We publish roleplaying games and speculative fiction. I stumbled across this forum while banging my head on the keyboard trying to find help with maps. I have map maker software (Campaign Cartographer) that I have used for small scale projects in the past. But to be honest, I'm a writer/designer, NOT a map maker. My boyfriend insists my inability to create a decent map is directly related to my complete lack of direction sense. There may be some truth to that.

Essentially, I've come here mostly to lurk and perhaps occassionally stalk a more talented map maker to offer them money to make maps for me.>:) Though I love reading about processes and have found some of the discussions very interesting. If nothing else, hanging out should give me a better idea of how map makers think and approach projects, so I can give better directions when I do hire someone.

So for now I'll mostly lurk, but maybe eventually I will upload one of my horrific map attempts and you can all point and laugh. :mrgreen:

Larb
11-17-2011, 07:56 PM
It's just practice and will to do it (and check out tutorials and things). Anyone can make a good map if they really want to. My early ones were horrific too! Anyway, welcome!

Steel General
11-18-2011, 07:23 AM
Welcome Aboard!

I agree w/Larb, all it takes is a bit of practice I wouldn't even call some of my early attempts maps, more like cartographic abominations! :D

ChicagoMay
11-18-2011, 08:33 AM
Welcome to the guild! As they have said above, YOU CAN DO IT! :P If not, you can always put in a request and hire someone!

bradlavario
11-18-2011, 09:20 AM
Just get a good set of brushes and learn to diffuse clouds and you will amaze yourself.

bardsandsages
11-18-2011, 02:28 PM