PDA

View Full Version : Ruins Of Undermountain III (BIP Project)

Doirche
03-29-2008, 02:42 PM
Hey everyone,

Here is what I have done so far for Undermountain Level 7. Mind you that I did NOT design the dungeon itself, it was hand drawn by Halaster Blackcloak at the BIP website. All I do is take the hand drawn maps and make it look nice, hehe.

There is still a bunch of work to be done on this level. I am still learning the ins and outs of Adobe Illustrator and have made plenty of mistakes along the way.

One of the biggest things that I think needs changing is the grid color. In the original set, the grid was grey, this grid is black and it tends to make the map look too dark when printed out. Another thing is the border spacing needs to be tweaked. I'd also like to lighten up the "core rooms" (orange in color) as they also print a little too dark but this may be an illusion from the black grid. We'll see.

Please let me know what you think of it so far. Feedback is welcome! Even if it stings.... :D

http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f26/Doirche/2b3924e3.jpg

Doirche
03-29-2008, 02:45 PM
One other thing.... on another website, a few people complained about the use of the "Forgotten Realms" map legend and said it may be a copyright violation to use it. I have contacted Wizards of the Coast and asked them if they had a problem with the BIP project using the graphic in our maps. I have not heard back from them yet, but when I do and if they say it's an issue, I will take the map down immediately.

ravells
03-29-2008, 04:38 PM
I have never in my life seen such a big dungeon.

Redrobes
03-29-2008, 07:12 PM
Hi Doirche, This is a great map of course. Could you write a few lines about how and why this map was made. I have caught a few bits of the puzzle in that WotC published some and missed some and now its being expanded - or something like that...

As you can tell I haven't been following the story on this so what does the orange rooms signify ?