PDA

View Full Version : Making elemnt changes less abrupt, how do?

Akaizhar
01-30-2012, 10:56 PM
To get it out of the way first, I use photoshop and consider myself a general novice. I've created one large map to date, using techniques I have found online. The thing I wish to ask is, how does one make changed between forest/grassland/snow without making it appear so abrupt. I haven't discovered the tools or blending options that allow me to do it. Any ideas?

Example Below.

Langy
01-30-2012, 11:59 PM
Generally, use a wide, low-opacity brush to paint your textures. This allows the textures to 'blend' somewhat naturally. I'm not an expert with Photoshop or anything either, but that's what I did with my Mythic Earth (http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?17339-WIP-Mythic-Earth) map; this is the result:

jfrazierjr
01-31-2012, 12:20 PM
Better yet, use multiple layers and layer masks. This is a NON DESTRUCTIVE way to blend textures as opposed to texture painting. ie, you can easily change without having to redo.

Akaizhar
01-31-2012, 11:07 PM
So low opacity is the general rule, I use multiple layers as it is, each one is divided into what it is (forests is one layer, mountains another, etc etc) but the key is low opacity? How do you get those colors across one layer to blend well, or even mixing those colors together?

As you can see from my image, nearly everything is one uniform color. And this is something I would like to fix.

Coyotemax
02-01-2012, 02:07 AM
Since you already keep your layers separated out, it should be easy - the trick with the low opacity is to do a lot of overlapping. the more you paint over the same spot the more opaque it will get, so you do that in the center areas of the region you want to look like, say, grassland. then let it fade out as it goes into the hills. Forests don't need the opacity but if you have a broken up edge, it should work.

The other thing you might want to try is blending modes - overlay for the forests, etc.