PDA

View Full Version : Opinions



waldronate
04-01-2008, 03:56 AM
I am looking for opinions on the landforms and general layout.

Torq
04-01-2008, 05:53 AM
I think it looks good and quite "natural" in the way it set out. Some of the rivers look a little weird to me in that they seem to just stop, or flow through higher ground areas. What app did you use to create it?

Torq

ravells
04-01-2008, 06:36 AM
I really like the colour scheme that you've used: that dark blue sea really makes the land pop. Ditto about the rivers, though. The continental shapes look fine to me.

Sigurd
04-01-2008, 09:20 AM
Its very pretty.

A little too vibrant for a satellite image but that may not matter.

I like the continent shape.

Some of your rivers, especially on the north eastern mountain range, seem to run without regards for your elevation.

Your oceans seem a little small compared to earth, again may not matter. I tend to think that if the land\water has been around a while thin oceans will either widen or dry up.

But it's very pretty. How did you make it?

DarkOne
04-01-2008, 10:20 AM
The exact question that came to mind: How did you create this map? How did you do the rivers?

waldronate
04-01-2008, 02:34 PM
I think it looks good and quite "natural" in the way it set out. Some of the rivers look a little weird to me in that they seem to just stop, or flow through higher ground areas. What app did you use to create it?

Torq

Which rivers are having this problem? There is one small river on the left-hand continent that ends in a desert, but that' not too unreasonable and there's another on the right-hand continent that comes down out of high mountains and flows through relatively dry areas before getting to wetter areas again.

This is an FT map with a little bit of editing. I did it for the "I can recognize an FT map at 500 paces" crowd. I think I overdid the blur a little after size reducing it in Photoshop, though.

Redrobes
04-01-2008, 02:51 PM
Hi Waldronate, I reckon it looks very nice though if the planet is earth sized then, and for some reason I don't know, rivers tend to have a maximum width which from space makes them very small - prob less than a pixel on this scale, though I am sure you know that.

While your here tho and because you know your way around FT fairly well... :D

Is there a way of getting a 16bit heightmap from it and/or can you get a heightmap for the sub sea regions ? If not then can you generate a land, export the 8bit map, reimport it and subtract that from the original, scale by 256 and export that giving the lower 8 bits ? I am asking because The 'Thinking Big' thread has a collaborative map starting with an FT world...

waldronate
04-01-2008, 02:53 PM
Its very pretty.

A little too vibrant for a satellite image but that may not matter.

I like the continent shape.

Some of your rivers, especially on the north eastern mountain range, seem to run without regards for your elevation.

Your oceans seem a little small compared to earth, again may not matter. I tend to think that if the land\water has been around a while thin oceans will either widen or dry up.

But it's very pretty. How did you make it?

The back side of the globe is mostly water so it balances out the relatively small and shallow seas on the near side. The attached image shows pretty much a similar state with certain views of our own globe.

This image was done in Fractal Terrains Pro in about an hour or so by application of a little brushing, a little basin filling, a little bit of incise flow, and using the Image Climate shader with the old example image I did way back when (http://www.ridgenet.net/~jslayton/Sample.bmp is the image used with the shader).

My goal was to show that there is a world of difference between raw data as generated by the FT fractal algorithms (which are pretty poor in absolute terms) and a little bit of human intervention. Next on my agenda is to put in a little more time and add countries, roads, text, and cities.

waldronate
04-01-2008, 03:09 PM
Hi Waldronate, I reckon it looks very nice though if the planet is earth sized then, and for some reason I don't know, rivers tend to have a maximum width which from space makes them very small - prob less than a pixel on this scale, though I am sure you know that.


Unfortunately the minimum drawing resolution using FT is one pixel. I tried to get around it a little by rendering at a higher resolution and then downsampling in Photoshop, but it seems to have left them a little larger. If the rivers would alpha out on th etributaries and/or change color based on flow then things would probably look much better.



While your here tho and because you know your way around FT fairly well... :D


I don't use FT all that much, really. It's the classic problem that once you have a world, you tend not to need too many more. If it did more than just basic terrain generation then I might use it more.



Is there a way of getting a 16bit heightmap from it and/or can you get a heightmap for the sub sea regions ? If not then can you generate a land, export the 8bit map, reimport it and subtract that from the original, scale by 256 and export that giving the lower 8 bits ? I am asking because The 'Thinking Big' thread has a collaborative map starting with an FT world...

For output to a heightfield, I would use File>>Save As and pick the "Raw Binary File" option. Then enter the desired width and check the 16-bit Integer Output checkbox. The output will have one integer bit corresponding to one meter of elevation and items below sea level will be negative. If you leave the checkbox unchecked then the output will be 32-bit floats (1 unit = 1 meter) with items below sea level as negative. The resulting image is the basic equirectangular projection suitable for wrapping around a sphere in your favorite program.

<rant>
I cringe a little whenever I see folks showing unprocessed FT output. The raw output was marginally acceptable back in 2000 when it wsa first released and there wasn't much in the way of editing tools in the product, but that was 8 years and about 8 releases ago. A lot of tools have been added for cleaning up the basic layout and many people seem to avoid using them. Admittedly, many of them are a bit rough and some of them are utterly mysterious (what the heck is a "moundtain", anyway). But they can be used to good effect. </rant>

Redrobes
04-01-2008, 03:28 PM
Thanks, thats great as I know I will be able to get at float 1m res and it will save me having to make a subsea bathymetry type height map now.

I understand where your coming from with your rant. Your experience would be extremely well received with some tutorials on how to use the options and processing capabilities of FT. Theres lots of people here who use it a lot and give it a lot of respect which is does rightfully deserve. My islands app is just a hack to gen up some basic random noise and all the beef is elsewhere. FT Pro has that extra capability in it and its not being used.

If you don't know about the 'rep' thing here then its the widget of the scales and the little box by your avatar. So I should definitely give you some for that good advice. Its good that you pop in now and again.

su_liam
04-01-2008, 04:13 PM
You can still kind of see the Ridged Perlin in the overall continent shapes, but the distribution of highland and flat lowlandis is excellent; very realistic. The rivers do seem a little odd.

My opinion is that right now I am coveting FT for Mac with a lustful covetousness. I want a planet like that. Down deep in my loins, I want it.

The large scale landforms look even better(and less FTey)than Sorol. I'd love to see an atlas akin to the Sorolpedia done on this planet, with some very close in maps done.


I did it for the "I can recognize an FT map at 500 paces" crowd. I think I overdid the blur a little after size reducing it in Photoshop, though.

Heh... According to an interview I read, Mr. Slayton is part of that crowd.

ravells
04-01-2008, 04:56 PM
I haven't got FT pro - just FT (I believe), and it may be an older release. As I would consider myself part of the 'recognise an FT map at 500 paces crowd' I would love to see a tutorial, however brief as to how you use the FT tools. I did try a while back, starting with a flat world, but the results were really blocky. I believe if you did a tutorial you'd have a lot of willing eyes here!

waldronate
04-01-2008, 07:41 PM
I haven't got FT pro - just FT (I believe), and it may be an older release. As I would consider myself part of the 'recognise an FT map at 500 paces crowd' I would love to see a tutorial, however brief as to how you use the FT tools. I did try a while back, starting with a flat world, but the results were really blocky. I believe if you did a tutorial you'd have a lot of willing eyes here!

FT Pro (version 2.x) is much, much better in the richness of its editing tools than the original version 1.x. I would recommend upgrading if you can because many of the tools in FT Pro have no equivalent in FT1 (rivers, basin fills, incise flow, pre-scale offset editing, remap altitudes, and so on).

As far as starting a world, it is much easier to start with a world that's not flat than it is to start with a flat world and go from there. Pre-scale offset editing in FT Pro makes life much simpler when painting because it works with the continental shelf and scaling rather than fighting them. It wasn't a clean implementation and the number are a little fiddly, but it's not too awful once you get used to it.

This is the old prototype GIF example of the concepts involved: http://www.ridgenet.net/~jslayton/Tutorial1.gif

The actual steps I used in the example for this thread were somewhat different than shown in the GIF and I'll see about getting them written up.

ravells
04-01-2008, 08:11 PM
Hang on...mine's version 2.2 - does that mean it's FT pro?

waldronate
04-01-2008, 09:12 PM
Hang on...mine's version 2.2 - does that mean it's FT pro?

FT Pro should be version 2.x, if I recall. The surest way to tell is to start the application and use Help>>About. If it's FT Pro it will say "Fractal Terrains Pro". The current version available from the ProFantasy web site is 2.3.0.9 so you might want to log in to their website and see if there's a free update available.

waldronate
04-02-2008, 02:01 AM
I have put a quick tutorial and made a different map using the same general techniques. I did get a little carried away with continent size, but check out http://www.ridgenet.net/~jslayton/CGTutorial/index.html for the steps I used. I'd post it here but I'm too lazy to chop it up into the required pieces.

On the plus side, I did discover some new FT bugs that need ironing out so it was good in that sense, too.

ravells
04-02-2008, 01:47 PM
A thousand thanks Waldronate! If I could rep you ten times, I would!

monks
04-03-2008, 09:33 AM
I'm also a member of the 'recognise an FT map at a thousand paces' crowd: proud owner of boxed version YO!. I can also recognise the author at a fair ole distance too,,,lol


monks

waldronate
04-03-2008, 12:45 PM
I'm also a member of the 'recognise an FT map at a thousand paces' crowd: proud owner of boxed version YO!.


When you saw the map at the top of the thread did it immediately strike you as an FT product, though?

ravells
04-03-2008, 04:25 PM
Thanks Waldronate..now established that I do have FT pro but hadn't downloaded the latest update which I have now done. The new feature that blows me away is the custom climate shader which really rocks. It effectively allows you to automatically paint the landscape in the way that you want it. I'm off to have a play!

monks
04-04-2008, 05:58 PM
@Joe. No, not at all. Personally I have absolutely no gripes with FT's output; never have. I was always under the impression that (like Wilbur) there are a ton of things that one can do with it, both in terms of terrain and maps; you just have to dig around.
I think the main reason people immediately recognise FT output is simply due to the fact that FT is THE only global terrain app- how many do you know...?

monks

Literalmn
08-05-2009, 05:52 PM
I just bought a pen-tablet CC3 and FTPro because I was so inspired by the gang here.... I've been following some of your tutorials.

I just d/l-ed FT Pro yesterday and I can't find Tools>>Actions>>Incise Flow or Map>>Show Other Shader>>Show Image Climate. And there is nothing besides "bump map" and "normal map" shaders available. Oh yeah and that Gaia deally (which looks ok but you can't modify). Do I have the wrong version? I'm super bummed, and guidance would be appreciated.


FT Pro (version 2.x) is much, much better in the richness of its editing tools than the original version 1.x. I would recommend upgrading if you can because many of the tools in FT Pro have no equivalent in FT1 (rivers, basin fills, incise flow, pre-scale offset editing, remap altitudes, and so on).

As far as starting a world, it is much easier to start with a world that's not flat than it is to start with a flat world and go from there. Pre-scale offset editing in FT Pro makes life much simpler when painting because it works with the continental shelf and scaling rather than fighting them. It wasn't a clean implementation and the number are a little fiddly, but it's not too awful once you get used to it.

This is the old prototype GIF example of the concepts involved: http://www.ridgenet.net/~jslayton/Tutorial1.gif

The actual steps I used in the example for this thread were somewhat different than shown in the GIF and I'll see about getting them written up.

waldronate
08-06-2009, 02:26 AM
The registration page at ProFantasy should have an update with the features of interest here. One more reason to register your software.

Literalmn
08-06-2009, 01:22 PM
Yup. I'm a tard. I found it, downloaded the updates and looks like things are a workin.

Thanks for the help.


The registration page at ProFantasy should have an update with the features of interest here. One more reason to register your software.