PDA

View Full Version : [WIP] Aetherworld Map: Water flows up mountains too, right? Help with Rivers.

wittyoctopus
02-07-2012, 02:22 PM
Hello to all. I have been working on the attached map for about four weeks now. Sadly I did not think to read the river tutorial until after I had placed all of my primary rivers and lakes. This map was/is being created using a combination of Illustrator and Photoshop. I've only been working in photoshop for about four months so I'm still learning the ropes, but the tutorials I've found around here have been invaluable in getting me this far.

I'm fairly pleased with my mountains and hills. All were "hand" drawn using a wacom that West2/Mark Mahaffey so kindly loaned me.

I could really use some critique of my rivers. I feel like some are O.K. but others are in serious violation of the rules. Therefore, calling all river flow nazis, help me fix my rivers.

Let me know if I'm being too demanding/needy. I'm new to the forum and to this type of work and don't want to step on any toes right out of the gate.

42033 (http://www.cartographersguild.com/album.php?albumid=3494&attachmentid=42032)
Aetherworld Map (http://www.cartographersguild.com/album.php?albumid=3494&attachmentid=42032)

Ramah
02-07-2012, 02:44 PM
Hey there.

I really like the look of your map. The palette is right up my street, as is the style. But to be honest, I was really having trouble concentrating on your rivers because the dark brown blurred stroke you have used that seems to denote borders is overpowering. I'd lower the opacity on that by a large amount personally.
But aside from that yeah, I can see your rivers aren't great. I can see several that stretch from coast to coast and lakes with several outflows.

With those fixed and those dark brown borders this would be a real looker.

wittyoctopus
02-07-2012, 03:25 PM