PDA

View Full Version : Real-time Gradfient-Domain Painting (I wish it was a plugin for photoshop)



guyanonymous
04-01-2012, 10:08 AM
This is from a 2008 presentation at SIGGRAPH. Looking at it, the various features seem to me they'd be very useful for mapping etc - especially the first bit for sketching out mountains etc.

Video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvhkAfrA0-w)

Project Page (with downloads) (http://graphics.cs.cmu.edu/projects/gradient-paint/)

edit: Just saw anther project of his on "Soft Stacking (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9LLl7IWqcAo&context=C4eaa0dfADvjVQa1PpcFMQWpFq3xmweWqRlZeTbF_I 7SW-vo5__hQ=)" and noticed it was done in 2012 in conjunction with/at Adobe....so there's hope.

Lukc
04-01-2012, 10:21 AM
jaw drops :O

monks
04-01-2012, 10:28 AM
VERY useful stuff! I would really like to be able to paint a gradient along an arbitrary curve (spline). So I could paint heightmap valleys.m

monks

exzero
04-04-2012, 01:42 PM
I installed the program and tried to start it on my MacBookPro but it crashes right away....sadly

TheBigBlueFrog
04-10-2012, 10:18 PM
Jaw dropping is right. This is a game changer. If Adobe buys the rights to incorporate this into PShop, it would change the way I retouch photos.

Hai-Etlik
04-11-2012, 01:47 AM
Jaw dropping is right. This is a game changer. If Adobe buys the rights to incorporate this into PShop, it would change the way I retouch photos.

That depends on whether it's patent encumbered. (I am REALLY glad we don't have general software patents here in Canada) If not, anyone can implement it themselves provided they don't violate Copyright by direct copying of source code.

Kindari
05-01-2012, 09:42 AM
This works in realtime because it's GPU accelerated (if I read correctly). I don't know if Photoshop CS6 will have this feature specifically, it IS getting Mercury support (the same NVIDIA CUDA based GPU acceleration that revolutionized Adobe Premiere recently). You can create these effects with Photoshop, just not nearly as quickly. Hopefully, CS6 will either incorporate it or at least get us one step closer.

For now, you could probably export a layer, edit it with this program and bring it back to your PSD file in lieu of a proper plugin / feature.

guyanonymous
05-06-2012, 12:04 PM
Isn't CS6 out now to try?