PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from, uh, sunny-ish Upstate NY

Nonsequitur
05-04-2008, 10:47 PM
Hi! Just joined.

I'm a pen-n-paper enthusiast (AD&D, AD&D2e, RuneQuest), old school miniature collector (circa 1977-1983, the uglier the better), and closet cartophiliac (the shame).

I have a healthy love for fantasy cartography, and I like to dabble when I find the time. There aren't a lot of RPG hobbyists in the area, so I tend to satisfy my gaming needs by devising and developing simple campaign settings. It's not really a hobby I could take to the local art gallery, but it makes me happy. I've done some very basic maps that aren't so horrible that I won't share them here. And I'd also like to add that I have no practical knowledge to share that relates to the art of cartography, I just want to absorb your knowledge, maybe offer some useful outsider criticism along the way.

Great community, btw.

Gamerprinter
05-04-2008, 11:55 PM
Welcome, Nonsequitur!

The love of maps is the first step. Post maps, ask questions and critique away.

NeonKnight
05-05-2008, 04:38 AM
Welcome to our little corner of the web!

RPMiller
05-05-2008, 12:27 PM
Welcome to the Guild Nonsequitur!

pyrandon
05-05-2008, 03:48 PM
Welcome, and glad you will be participating here, helping others while helping yourself! :)

ravells
05-05-2008, 04:39 PM
Welcome to the Guild and, this is a place of learning as well as teaching, so I hope you learn much while you are here.

jaerdaph
05-12-2008, 02:41 PM
Binghamton! My parents live outside of Binghamton in Endwell! My father was an IP lawyer for IBM for 30+ years and we ended up there from NYC when IBM was still around. I went to Seton Catholic Central in Binghamton many, many years ago. I've been living in NYC again though for quite some time now.

Welcome to the Guild, fellow Southern Tier gamer! :)

BTW, is Fat Cat Books still around? That was one of the greatest game stores on the planet.

Nonsequitur
05-13-2008, 01:23 AM