PDA

View Full Version : July / August 2012 Lite Challenge Entry: The City of Trovesport, Jewel of the Crown

LindaJeanne
07-31-2012, 10:18 PM
Only time will tell if I've bitten off more than I can chew for the timeframe again:

### Latest WIP ###

LindaJeanne
08-01-2012, 10:22 PM
Critiques welcome, btw. There's so much I'm still learning.

Elevation contours added, and starting to sketch out the locations of the major fortifications. I need to make the scale more consistent; the river should be wider. And the contours need to be adjusted... not entirely natural-looking as they are now.

### Latest WIP ###

atpollard
08-02-2012, 09:24 AM
Should the land get darker as it rises and the water become darker as it gets deeper?

LindaJeanne
08-02-2012, 08:52 PM
More of the city roughly sketched out:

### Latest WIP ###

LindaJeanne
08-04-2012, 03:11 PM
Refined the rough-layout of the city districts, and added rough layout of the countryside:

### Latest WIP ###

Should the land get darker as it rises and the water become darker as it gets deeper?
That's how most modern maps are. :) But I've always liked the effect I've seen on some antique maps where the saturation is greatest on the coastline (my guess is that the reason was to use less ink. But the look seemed appropriate for this map.)

LindaJeanne
08-04-2012, 08:11 PM
More refinements.

Next, I've got to start putting the buildings in :)

### Latest WIP ###

Edited to add: while working on buildings for the seaward-facing slope by the river-- I noticed that the river is just sort of floating on top of the contours. Yes, it's flowing down, but it hasn't carved any sort of bed for itself. Next step: fix the contours so that the surface water is a little less literally "surface" water.

Larb
08-04-2012, 08:18 PM
This is looking very pretty. It's all vector, right?

LindaJeanne
08-04-2012, 08:35 PM

I like the flexibility of vector. So much easier to edit and make changes than with raster.

ravells
08-04-2012, 08:53 PM