PDA

View Full Version : July/August 2011 Lite Challenge Entry: Glandred's Hollow

anomiecoalition
08-03-2012, 12:46 PM
Hey all...figured this challenge would be a good excuse to try to get to know photoshop better and go beyond the few tutorials that i've attempted. I've decided to use the shape provided as the rough outline of a mountain with interior space used to depict a river valley and town. (I've taken a few liberties with the shape - i.e. I filled in a big hole that was in the top of it - figured that it was very unlikely that my entry would be competitive anyway).

Next step is to start the town...but...i'm really really new at this and would certainly appreciate any comments, critiques, suggestions that could be thrown my way.

### LATEST WIP ###

*In particular - not really sure about the scale I should be using. I figure that most of the buildings should be pretty small - but any advice here would also be helpful.

Korash
08-03-2012, 03:08 PM
I think scale would depend on how tall the "mountains" are. If you want to make this a town and environs, I would think of them as Hills more mountains, and that would allow you to have a larger scale, with the town around the lake instead of on one side of it. Think along the lines of a Box Canyon town sort of thing. Just a suggestion though ;)

A couple of comments though...You might want to place the river layer on top of the mountain layer because the sources fade into the mountains. Another is maybe to blur the lower layers of the mountains a bit more to have them blend in a bit better. As is they look quite a bit "stepped".

anomiecoalition
08-03-2012, 06:38 PM
Thanks for the feedback...I've tried to smooth out the mountain edges a bit and will try to play around the with the rivers soon (I saw someone on these forums talking about a path tool and playing with the stroke settings - might give that a try).