PDA

View Full Version : Das Qala

Carbus
09-10-2012, 08:42 PM
Hi guys, so I never did these kind of stuff before, Ive started this cartography thing 2 months ago and never thought I would love making it. I consider my drawing skills between ok and bad, but I decided to try and do something in these month challenge.

It was born from some initial lines, the idea of a castle carved in to a mountains ( its a cliche, but hey its my first try!). Im making Das Qala based on Minas Tirith, The Eyrie (from GOT) andother castles that are mountain based (I might say I stole a bit the idea from the Throat of the World from Skyrim). To reach Das Qala one must walk the Red Stairs, and then reach the village of Das Kand, from there walk the Das Qala mountains road, a tricky and narrow one, making it impossible for a large contingent to walk it without casualties.
I know the story is still a bit shallow, but if everything goes well, i will try and do something more interesting.
Critics are welcome! ;)

anomiecoalition
09-10-2012, 09:06 PM
I really like it (...and if your drawing skills are "between OK and Bad" then we need to seriously revise the scale to make room for my abominations - hence the reason I use CC3 and occasionally photoshop). I'm not sure if it would kill the aesthetic, but i'd be interested to see how it'd look with a little more subtle shading and/or color.

Carbus
09-10-2012, 09:13 PM
I really like it (...and if your drawing skills are "between OK and Bad" then we need to seriously revise the scale to make room for my abominations - hence the reason I use CC3 and occasionally photoshop). I'm not sure if it would kill the aesthetic, but i'd be interested to see how it'd look with a little more subtle shading and/or color.

hahaha I forgot to mention that its only a skecth, the shading is coming after I finish the main lines! :D
Thanks for the reply!

Schwarzkreuz
09-10-2012, 09:14 PM