PDA

View Full Version : Fantasy Mapper Here!



Azrof
05-19-2008, 11:25 AM
Hiya yall,

I've been doing mapping in Bryce and by hand for years, and am considering entering the realm of newer software better suited for table top gaming (such as CC3).

I'm looking forward to your insights and pleasant surprises!

RPMiller
05-19-2008, 11:34 AM
Welcome to the Guild Azrof! We are happy to have you and hope that we can indeed provide those insights and surprises. :) Do you have any maps to share so that we can see your style and start offering you any help and perhaps even learn a few things ourselves. :)

ravells
05-19-2008, 12:30 PM
Welcome to the Guild Aszrof! Glad to see another Bryce user! Using Bryce in conjunction with Gimp / photoshop and Fractal Terrains can give you some pretty stunning options!

GM's Apprentice
05-19-2008, 01:50 PM
Welcome! I look forward to some good tips on using Bryce. I have the program, but have not really taken advantage of it.

Torq
05-19-2008, 03:33 PM
Welcome Azrof, to the fantasy mapping kingdom. Feel free to ask any questions you may have regarding your software of choice. We have good mappers in every flavour who will be only too willing to help out.

Torq

Azrof
05-19-2008, 11:03 PM
Basically, I work in Bryce to make overland geography, SnagIt! to make Dungeon and City Maps and PSP to cleanup or add effects (I normally use tubes, flares and other plugins).

None of the work I've made over the years has been as high a quality as I "dreamed," and many times I was reluctant to show players my work because...despite putting (occasionally) hours in complex maps, I never felt confident. Even using CC2 did not feel right.

Occasionally I'll use Bryce to make a mini-movie, however without the cities and other landmarks my audience needs to feel the reality of the world....it's less astonishing...and that requires time I just cannot sink into a map that I might use a half a dozen times in a given campaign (depending).

Here are a few examples - Bryce and SnagIt!

The Bryce image took me about 25-30 minutes to get right. The SnagIt! images took me much less time (3-5 minutes per map). For quick maps that players won't see, I swear by it.

Anyhow, that's my artistic background. I'm looking forward to learning Gimp and providing all of you with the fruits of those labors :)

:Edit: Images thumbnailed. - Ravells

Azrof
05-19-2008, 11:05 PM
I made that post huge by including those images.

Any tips for posting images in the future dear Sirs and Ma'ams?

Doirche
05-19-2008, 11:32 PM
I made that post huge by including those images.

Any tips for posting images in the future dear Sirs and Ma'ams?

Welcome to the guild Azrof.

You could always use an image hosting site like IMAGE SHACK (www.imageshack.us) and use the thumbnail link they provide you when you upload your images.

There are many other ways to accomplish what you are asking. I just posted how I do it. :)

Gamerprinter
05-19-2008, 11:46 PM
When you post a message, just above the text entry area, there are two lines of options. On the top line with the red and blue "remove text formating", the "paperclip" further down that line options is "attachments"

Click "attachments" to upload your image. A thumbnail is automatically created in the thread, with a link to a larger view of your attachment.

Don't use "insert image", unless you have a small dimension image.

GP

Just a suggestion to help you out...

ravells
05-20-2008, 05:57 AM
Hi Azrof!

As GP said, it's much appreciated if you use the onboard attachment client as people with lower bandwidth don't have to wait ages for pictures to load to read the thread. I've edited your post and attached your images using the attachment client. Unfortunately the BMP won't show as a thumbnail, although it's still clickable to see the picture (needs to be either a jpeg or a png to show a thumbnail I think).

Do a search on the forums for Bryce, there are some tutorials on it which will let you get more out of the program.

Azrof
05-20-2008, 10:34 AM
Thanks everyone.

Redrobes
05-20-2008, 09:01 PM
...and PSP to cleanup or add effects (I normally use tubes, flares and other plugins).I use PSP quite extensively - an older version as the newer versions kept getting worse IMO. A good chunk of my May challenge entry is done on PSP. I flick between many tools, most of them custom too but I could have done that particular map entirely in PSP. People have commented on the stained glass window lighting but that was all PSP in the end. Its funny tho, cos I never use the tubes or flares features. I don't think my version even has flares...

I think the thing I use the most are the effects for blur (gaussian) and image arithmetic for doing a lot of masking.

Its got its faults but I know where they are now so I guess I am just used to it.

NeonKnight
05-21-2008, 12:38 AM
Whew! Man, been busy while I was away.

There is still a proposed 'demo' version of CC3 in the works, but as of yet there is nothing, shame really.