PDA

View Full Version : Draesina: My First Attempt at Creating a Map :D

okami
12-09-2012, 08:50 PM
So, this is eventually going to be a world map for my fantasy world, Draesina. I'm just starting out, as you can see, and would just like some opinions. I have the basic continent outlines, the plate tectonics and their movement, and the continents overlayed onto a world map to show relative sizes. I'm keeping the world similar to Earth, to make it easier for me.

I'm mainly looking for insight on my plate tectonics. What landforms would be created where, mainly, or if there's anything that just looks wonky and needs to be changed. Any and all help is appreciated! ^.^

Continent Outline

Plate Tectonics

Reference

FiahOwl
12-09-2012, 10:15 PM
Looks pretty good! ^_^ I'm no expert on tectonic plates but I think they need a little work IMO, I'll see if anybody else wants to explain.

I like the coastlines they're pretty believable and pretty :D (did that make sense?)

okami
12-09-2012, 11:30 PM
lol yes! I actually grabbed some premade continent patterns from deviant art.

In fact, I hunted down the page again: Fantasy Map Resources (http://calthyechild.deviantart.com/art/Fantasy-Map-TutorialxResources-258559867)

Basically what I did was cut open up the vairous premades in gimp, cut put pieces I liked, and mashed them together, editing a little here and there so it would fit correctly. (I had to get some rough measurements down for it to work in my story.) Then I took the entire blob of continent and selected it, then shrank the selection to create an outline. That was the easiest way I found to do it, as the thought of hand drawing (even on the computer!) coastlines made my head spin. Also, I only had a rough idea what I wanted my continents to look like, and so this helped me give them some variety and believability.

ManOfSteel
12-10-2012, 12:55 AM
Very nice, but just a few things I'd like to point out.