PDA

View Full Version : Surroundings of a fallen empire

Lingon
12-20-2012, 06:22 PM
So, I began sketching a new mapÖ Iíll be posting the progress here :)

First I made a rough sketch of the continent Iíll be drawing. I intend it to cover most of a hemisphere, so the mountains and rivers and all that will be shrunk to more realistic sizes. I'm not sure on the orientation, but I think it'll be this way.

Then I spent a long time trying to decide what kind of projection to use. In the end I chose one I liked the look of, and it is for hemispheres so it suits this project. Being a cartography noob, I thought it looked easy to draw as well. It was hardÖ
But Iím pretty happy with how it turned out. I only have the non-inked grid so far, but Iíll show it. Here it is:

Now some backstory. Basically this is a planet that was hit by a massive meteor, which caused the spin to change and lock it to always show the same side to itís sun. Itís got a really strong magnetic field to protect it from the constant radiation, and itís probably a bit further away from the sun than the Earth is. There are some civilizations in the dusk/dawn areas. Iíll be mapping the dayside, since the nightside is uncharted. It also makes a more interesting map, as the nightside would be pitch black ;)

If anyone else wants to draw this kind of projection (is it called Wulff net? I think so) by hand, I came up with two equations to determine at what points the longitudes intersect the equator. Thereís probably a better way, as this one requires you to draw the arcs freehand, but if no one finds it helpful it might at least be amusing how weirdly I did this. The equations are:

(r-36y)/9=x
(1/21)x=y