PDA

View Full Version : How do I make a concentric coastline effect?

rinne
01-21-2013, 10:41 PM
I'm Rinne. Hello, everyone. :'3

As mentioned in the thread title, I have a question. How would one go about making similar effects to those found along the coastlines of this map (http://www.cartographersguild.com/finished-maps/21528-western-arnonas.html), specifically the little dashed lines? I like how it looks and am trying to replicate it in a map I'm currently working on, but I'm not that experienced with Photoshop so I wouldn't know. (I've attached an image as reference.) Thank you in advance!

http://i.imgur.com/2u0yL5h.png

amberroberts09
01-22-2013, 05:21 AM
Welcome to the forum. Sorry can't solve your question.

sai
02-12-2013, 09:11 AM
Check out this tutorial at the 5:52 mark:

Fantasy Cartography with Adobe Photoshop #14 - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OGIwB0rywZ0)

It's basically a stroked selection with noise to break up the lines.

mystic badger
02-12-2013, 12:14 PM
I Had the same question in my mind. Thanks !

Larb
02-12-2013, 01:59 PM
Basically with your landmass selected, you are expanding the selection by X number of pixels, stroking it, expanding it again, stroking it again, etc (that's how I do it anyway). don't forget to use the smooth selection option to prevent to looking squarish as it expands further out.

Sharpes
04-01-2013, 08:50 AM
Yeah, I'm having a similar problem with this as well (using CS5). Once I've selected my coast outline with my magic wand tool, used edit>stroke and then expanded it I get the parallel lines but I also get it internally on the land as well. How do you ensure that when you use stroke you only get the water side of the coast? (apologies if this has been asked elsewhere!)

Arandil
04-03-2013, 04:18 PM
Mask the layer that you only want to affect, then work your operation within that mask.

Sharpes
04-12-2013, 07:06 AM