PDA

View Full Version : Fantasy Inn

darelf
06-13-2008, 04:29 PM
So, it seems apropos around here to post a map of an inn.... This is my first attempt at digital/3d mapping. The only interior feature currently is the fireplace, but it can certainly be used as is for use in a town/city map as long as you don't need the interior done.

I plan on adding a stair, then rooms upstairs, then probably add a small "attached" room on the first floor for the innkeeper. Also, likely a stable area, but we'll see how quickly I get bored.... :)

Redrobes
06-13-2008, 04:32 PM
Cool, is that a sketchup ?

Welcome btw :)

darelf
06-13-2008, 04:35 PM
Yes sir... it is in Sketchup. My favorite price is free...

ravells
06-13-2008, 04:35 PM
Nice! Welcome to the guild. Are you planning on furnishing it?

Redrobes
06-13-2008, 05:42 PM
Yes sir... it is in Sketchup. My favorite price is free...Of course - keep an eye out for SeerBlue who is doing a town in sketchup at mo...

RPMiller
06-13-2008, 06:55 PM
Love seeing some good Sketchup to go with my fries and cartography. ;) Welcome to the Guild! You shall receive some Rep for coming in and contributing with gusto! Repped.

jfrazierjr
06-13-2008, 08:01 PM
Welcome to the guild. This is really cool work. Duely repped. POST MORE.

One thing though, if possible, you might want to run some floor joists on the cieling if this is meant to be a something other than a modern day building. I would expect that most people would not spend the time or materials to solid plank up a ceiling and without floor joists, the second floor would fall in.

Joe

darelf
06-13-2008, 09:32 PM
Thanks everyone.

Yes, I plan on furnishing it. At least, to a degree.

I hadn't thought about the floor joists. Or rather, I had but then I got busy with other parts. I made the floor 2' thick so I could go back and push in...

I almost left the ceiling open, with ceiling beams, but then changed my mind about the climate....

Sir Alain
06-13-2008, 11:44 PM