PDA

View Full Version : GIMP crash in loading



Kier
03-18-2013, 02:07 PM
Hello all,

I know there are a lot of people hear who use GIMP, and hope someone might have some insight. I have been using 2.8.4 I think the latest release with no problem other than the ocassional freeze up when working with a file over 1 gig.

But, just last night, GIMP refuses to load. It reaches the tools-preset then locks up, and then closes. Has anyone ever had this happen? Any thoughts?

I havent installed any new fonts, or scripts, or brushes in the last week. (although I have saved about 20 brushes with the save/brush command.) In fact I dont think I have installed anything new on my computer at all. I have uninstalled and reinstalled but no luck. I can get version 2.6 to work though. I am currently running it on windows 7.

Thanks in advance and fingers crossed.

Kier
03-18-2013, 03:11 PM
Up and running now. Had some sort of bug in my tools-preset, renamed the folder and relaunched and up and running.

Thanks

nolgroth
04-18-2013, 06:13 PM
I've been having all sorts of problems with Gimp 2.8.4 on Windows 7. I can't run Alpha to Logo scripts for example. The input dialog pops up, but I can't change gradients for instance. I've actually reverted to 2.6 for some of my tasks. It's been making this month's challenge extra challenging. :)

I'm thinking of uninstalling Gimp 2.8 and reinstalling into a non-UAC controlled folder. Just the way it is misbehaving, I am thinking that UAC is somehow conflicting with the individual tools. I'll let you know how it works out.

RobA
04-25-2013, 09:45 PM
I've been having all sorts of problems with Gimp 2.8.4 on Windows 7. I can't run Alpha to Logo scripts for example. The input dialog pops up, but I can't change gradients for instance. I've actually reverted to 2.6 for some of my tasks. It's been making this month's challenge extra challenging. :)

I'm thinking of uninstalling Gimp 2.8 and reinstalling into a non-UAC controlled folder. Just the way it is misbehaving, I am thinking that UAC is somehow conflicting with the individual tools. I'll let you know how it works out.

I have gimp installed to my D drive (not program files) on windows 7 and have no issues like those mentioned.

-Rob A>