PDA

View Full Version : [GIMP] WIP: My First "Real" Attempt at Subterranean Mapping

Sharpe
03-21-2013, 11:37 PM
Greetings!

I'm not an artist. I'm certainly no where near many of the members' level of talent on here. I just use GIMP, but not very well. XD

Here's the base of my map (3,000 x 3,000): http://img706.imageshack.us/img706/6050/shadowyrm6.jpg

First, I painted black walls on a white canvas. Then -- obviously to those who know of it -- I used RobA's Subterrainian Map Prettier Script (http://www.cartographersguild.com/automation-scripts-actions/2759-subterrainian-map-prettier-script-4.html#post40367). After removing the square grid, I sandwiched a hex grid (http://www.cartographersguild.com/automation-scripts-actions/5338-gimp-script-hex-grid.html#post60475) between the wall and floor layers (we play GURPS Fourth Edition (http://www.sjgames.com/gurps/), which uses hexes).

Then, I freehand drew the little elevation stairs all around and used the drop shadow filter on them.

That's it so far.

Eventually, I'll remove the wall texture and use filters to create my own with the help of the tutorial, "How to Blend Textures for Use in Battlemapping with GIMP. (http://www.cartographersguild.com/tutorials-how/12066-my-battlemap-tutorials.html)"

Next, I'm going to add stalagmites everywhere. Then, I plan to blend in some dirt texture (created with filters) on the floor. Not sure exactly how I should do that, I just know one single texture for the whole floor is boring.

I'd love to add mist, but I've no idea how to even start with that or how well even an expert could pull it off.

Dramatic lightning would be great as well, but again, I'm a total newbie with little experience and no talent.