PDA

View Full Version : Colour Blur/Blend in Photoshop?

Smithy
04-06-2013, 08:00 AM
Hi,
I am currently trying to produce a map using one of the tutorials and have hit a problem with blending the colours. I can't seem to get the Blur effect to work? What am i doing wrong. I went back and tried the tut again and still no blur. I am new to using Photoshop so am a bit clueless.

Here's a pic of where i am at, you can see the sketchy lines of colour that i cant get to blur/blend. (I tried some other things out using brushes etc so ignore the vaguely blended bits in middle.)

Thanks,
Smithy

thamupp
04-06-2013, 08:21 AM
Might I ask what tutorial you are following?

- Max -
04-06-2013, 08:27 AM
How did you try to blur it?

Smithy
04-06-2013, 08:43 AM
Sorry, should have mentioned that. I merged the 5 layers and then went to 'Filter / Blur / Blur'. I tried various things here, but the tut just says "Blur the merged layer" and doesn't elaborate for noobs like me on how you actually do it.

- Max -
04-06-2013, 09:16 AM
The simple "Blur" Effect is a very light effect, especially on big shapes. Try "Gaussian Blur" playing with values to see if it goes better.

vorropohaiah
04-06-2013, 09:16 AM
can youlink back to the original tutorial and tell us which step it is?

Smithy
04-06-2013, 10:21 AM
Tried Gaussian with higher values and it looks better but not the smooth effect of blending seen in the tut.

Like this....

- Max -
04-06-2013, 10:42 AM
can youlink back to the original tutorial and tell us which step it is?

What Vorropohaiah said...

Smithy
04-06-2013, 10:51 AM
It was in Jeremy Elford's one......
http://www.cartographersguild.com/attachments/tutorials-how/21666d1264969649-award-winner-making-maps-photoshop-jezelf_tut_map04.pdf

Part 1.7 where he talks about sketching colours in etc.

- Max -
04-06-2013, 11:13 AM