PDA

View Full Version : PLANETS from Satellite photos

Scot Harvest
08-16-2013, 08:55 PM
I am currently making system/planet detail maps for my TRAVELLAR games (found as "Trevellar worlds in alternate format" )

And now I need a BUNCH of planets!

So Photo Shop to the rescue....

These planets take about 12 minuets to make each and will do nicely I think.

http://i40.tinypic.com/2ljrthz.jpg

Chashio
08-16-2013, 09:43 PM
What's your 12 minute process, if you don't mind me asking? I've never used PS like this before, but it looks cool.

Scot Harvest
08-17-2013, 02:10 AM
Photoshop users should be able to use these directions... heck you will probably IMPROVE on them.

1. Go on Google earth-map and find a good aerial shot that captures the flavor of the planet you want.

2. Hit "PRINT SCREEN" to capture the image

3 Open your PS and make a new project, it will automatically size the new project to the size of what is on your CUT/PASTE clipboard (you just captured an image in to it)

4. PASTE you captured image to the new project

5. Use the circle marque to cut out a planet shape and PASTE it back onto your project (you have just made a layer)

6. Delete the background image (leave it black so its easy to see your planet), and delete the layer of whats left after you cut out your planet

7. Click on the drop down menu for "filters" and use a "distort" filter called "spherize" at its max setting to make the flat image look 3d round (you might have to use it 2-3 times).

8. Go to the WINDOW tab and click "layers", click (far Right) on the new layer you just made (the other layer should be called background)

9. Clicking the new layer should bring up a drop menu, check/click the Drop shadow / Inner Shadow / outer glow boxes.

10. Close the menu and you will see the effects you just created listed under your new layer.

11.Click each new effect and fiddle with the settings

Drop shadow:will put a shadow on objects BEHIND your planet