PDA

View Full Version : Paid Cartography - Resources



ravells
09-23-2013, 11:21 AM
How much should I charge for a map?
What can I do if a client doesn't pay?
How do I protect my rights?
Can I resign from my day job and become a full time professional Mapper?

As we have a growing number of people who are doing paid mapping commissions, I am putting together a list of links to useful information on the subject. If you are an established artist, please feel free to use this thread to tell others about your experiences, tips and lessons you have learned along the way. I know, for example that Torstan wrote a great piece about his experiences. GamerPrinter has also been very candid about his experiences as a professional mapmaker. I'll try and hunt it down their posts and link them here.

I know we already have some very useful information on the Guild, but it's spread around widely, I will try and collect it all here but please feel free to help! Just post the link below and CL's will come and do an occasional sweep to consolidate the links into this post for easy reference.


----- Threads on the Guild ------

Creative Commons Issues (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/10934-creative-commons-licensing-questions.html)
Rates for Cartography Commissions (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/10993-rates-cartography-commissions.html)
How long to sit on a project when you have lost the contract (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/11120-how-long-sit-project-when-you-have-lost-contact.html)
Finding Markets for Artistic Maps (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/12494-there-way-make-money-making-artistic-maps.html)
Handing over source files for a commission (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/12772-handing-over-source-files-commission-discussion.html)
How can anybody ask for an unpaid map? (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/10125-how-can-anybody-ask-unpaid-map.html)
Private Commissions of already Copyrighted Work - Should you accept them? (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/13697-question-private-commissions-depicting-copyright-works.html)
More Copyright Food for thought (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/13713-more-copyright-food-thought.html)
Publishing your work (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/13996-publishing-options.html)
Casting a Wider Freelancer Net (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/15673-casting-wider-freelancing-net.html)
http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/16353-posting-rights-reserved-image.html
map making cost (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/17045-map-making-question-cost.html)
http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/18220-places-sell-your-maps.html
Inspiring, Imitating and Copying (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/19892-inspiring-imitating-copying.html)
Hiring Cartographers (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/22832-hiring-cartographers.html)
Pressure and Productivity (http://www.cartographersguild.com/general-discussion/23151-pressure-productivity.html)

----- External Resources -----

Ralf Schemmann Interview - Kobold Quarterly (Thanks Torstan!) (http://www.koboldquarterly.com/k/article1408.php)
Sean MacDonald Interview - Kobold Quarterly (Thanks Torstan!) (http://www.koboldquarterly.com/k/article712.php)
How to Hire (Rip Off) an Artist - Kaitol (Thank Jaxilon!) (http://kaitol.com/how-to-hire-an-artist/comment-page-1/#comments)
How to Licence your Art - portersfield fine art (Thanks Jaxilion!) (http://www.porterfieldsfineart.com/howtolicenseyourart.htm)
Contracts Proposals and Invoicing - Graham 'Logo' Smith blog (Thanks RobA!) (http://imjustcreative.com/share-logo-design-contracts/2011/02/13/)
Dangers of CC Licensing - NinaPaley.com (Thanks RobA!) (http://blog.ninapaley.com/2011/05/06/the-avatars-of-vishnu/)
Useful Legal Documents for Designers - Smashing Magazine (http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2012/08/15/free-download-useful-legal-documents-for-designers-pdf/)
The Price of Art - Elfwood.com (Thanks Lightminder!) (http://www.elfwood.com/farp/thebusiness/priceart/priceart.html)
Protecting Yourself as a Designer - Webdesigner Depot.com

(http://www.webdesignerdepot.com/2011/08/protecting-yourself-as-a-designer/)

anomiecoalition
09-23-2013, 11:52 AM
Thanks for compiling this...but "The Price of Art" link appears to be dead

ravells
09-23-2013, 12:32 PM
Thanks Anomie - I've repaired it now.

RobA
09-23-2013, 01:40 PM
A couple from my bookmarks on copyright for artists:
Copyright for Artists FAQ (http://painting.about.com/od/copyrightforartistsfaq/Copyright_for_Artists_FAQ.htm)
AIGA | Copyright Basics for Graphic Designers (http://www.aiga.org/copyright-basics-for-graphic-designers/)
Copyright basics for graphic designers ? Part 1 (http://myows.com/blog/copyright-basics-for-graphic-designers-part-1/)

A nice sample "Deal Memo":
Fear Giving a Price Quote? The art of the Deal Memo - Maria Brophy*|*Maria Brophy (http://mariabrophy.com/business-of-art/fear-giving-a-price-quote-the-art-of-the-deal-memo.html)

From the same site, why NOT to do free work:
Why Artists Should (Not) Be Paid for Their Artwork - Maria Brophy*|*Maria Brophy (http://mariabrophy.com/business-of-art/why-artists-should-not-be-paid-for-their-artwork.html)

and another on working for free with some good points and counterpoints int he comments:
Working for Free | Artsy Shark (http://www.artsyshark.com/2013/05/21/working-for-free/)

-Rob A>

Chashio
09-23-2013, 11:52 PM
What an excellent idea to compile all of this mapping specific and other relevant info in one place. There's a lot I haven't come across before... which makes me want to go digging in the site history for more. Rated.

Skimming through everything... The "Pressure and Productivity" link is also dead.

ravells
09-24-2013, 03:53 AM
Thanks Chashio - repaired.