PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop Mapping. My first few attempts.



PillBox
07-15-2008, 02:07 PM
I was directed here by a few guys at the rptools website after I started making my first map in photoshop.

As I mentioned there, I am colourblind so these maps can come out a bit funny, though there seemed to be no problems with the map I posted over at the forums.

I have since made a few other maps. None of these are actually complete, but they are a series of maps for my campaign. I am hoping for some tips and advice.

I am having difficulties with stairs at the moment. Just cannot seem to make them look right.

Thanks.

(By the way - these rooms are mostly empty as items will be added using Maptools, such as doors and other objects.)


Temple Basement (http://pillboxgames.com/screenshots/maptools/almaar/almaar-Crypts---Temple-Basement.jpg)

Level 1 (http://pillboxgames.com/screenshots/maptools/almaar/Almaar-Crypts---level-1.jpg)

Level 2 (http://pillboxgames.com/screenshots/maptools/almaar/Almaar-Crypts-----level-2.jpg)

RPMiller
07-15-2008, 02:19 PM
Now who would have compelled you to come over here? ;)

FYI, you can actually attach your images to your post to make it a little easier for people to see and navigate. I've taken the liberty of attaching your first image so that you can see how it will look.

Oh, and Welcome to the Guild PillBox! C&C will be coming soon.

Sigurd
07-15-2008, 10:26 PM
Hey Pillbox, Welcome to the Guild!


I like the layout and logic of the levels. The floor checkerboard gives me a headache though. How much cleaning would it take for that to be the floor of a crypt and have it look that neon bright!.

I think the floor colouring is my only crit though. They're good maps and they feel believable.

Sigurd

torstan
07-16-2008, 05:53 AM
Can't think who might have encouraged you over...

Glad to see you made it :)

I'd suggest darkening the walls. At the moment they blend into the floor tone a little, and it would be useful to have more of a stark contrast.

As for the rest of it - looks good. I think those stairs are great actually.

Have some rep to get you started :).

ravells
07-16-2008, 06:23 AM
Welcome to the guild, Pillbox and may you spend many happy days producing wonderful maps!

PillBox
07-16-2008, 06:45 PM
Thanks guys,

I have been working on a snow map for sometime, and I have changed it many times now. I am probably going to go with this one as I am now needing to put these into play (still need to set them up in maptools).

So, here is my attempt at a snow map. Please let me know what you think.

(I have had trouble with the attachments ... they keep timing out. I guess the maps are too big).


The road to Almaar (http://pillboxgames.com/screenshots/maptools/almaar/Road-to-Almaar-smaller.jpg)

jfrazierjr
07-16-2008, 08:37 PM
Thanks guys,

I have been working on a snow map for sometime, and I have changed it many times now. I am probably going to go with this one as I am now needing to put these into play (still need to set them up in maptools).

So, here is my attempt at a snow map. Please let me know what you think.

(I have had trouble with the attachments ... they keep timing out. I guess the maps are too big).


The road to Almaar (http://pillboxgames.com/screenshots/maptools/almaar/Road-to-Almaar-smaller.jpg)

That is sweet! Have some rep... I hope you don't mind, but I would like to grab this for use in MT if your ok with that.

As for the upload, that happens when the image pixel size (no matter wht the file size is) goes over some limit, though I am not sure what that limit is. the problem is that the forum is trying to make a thumbnail and barfs on it. Arcana is aware and looking into the issue....

Joe

PillBox
07-17-2008, 02:22 AM
That is sweet! Have some rep... I hope you don't mind, but I would like to grab this for use in MT if your ok with that.


Sure, you can use it. Thanks for the rep :)

You should not have to adjust the grid at all, as it fits straight into MT.

torstan
07-17-2008, 03:01 AM
That's very clean. Good work!

RobA
07-17-2008, 04:43 PM
As for the upload, that happens when the image pixel size (no matter wht the file size is) goes over some limit, though I am not sure what that limit is. the problem is that the forum is trying to make a thumbnail and barfs on it. Arcana is aware and looking into the issue....

Joe

I believe it is 35 MB.

-Rob A>

RPMiller
07-17-2008, 05:43 PM
I believe it is 35 MB.

-Rob A>
35 Megapixels perhaps?

PillBox
07-18-2008, 01:50 PM
I have been messing around with another winter map, but this time I wanted a frozen pond. I have tried this several times, but just do not like the effect. It seems to sandy too me.

What do you guys think of this one?

http://pillboxgames.com/screenshots/maptools/almaar/Ice.jpg

jfrazierjr
07-18-2008, 07:49 PM
I have been messing around with another winter map, but this time I wanted a frozen pond. I have tried this several times, but just do not like the effect. It seems to sandy too me.

What do you guys think of this one?

http://pillboxgames.com/screenshots/maptools/almaar/Ice.jpg

Really nice... I think the lines on the ice could be toned down a bit. Other than than, I think the ice is pretty nice. Not sure what I would try on the ice though.. perhaps a bit of spread, perhaps a bit more blur. I think the big thing for me is that the lines are all fairly straight (mostly) and pretty much all the same direction. However, I would have not problem using this map and I don't think anyone would have to really stretch to know that this is a frozen pond...

RobA
07-19-2008, 04:41 PM
35 Megapixels perhaps?

Oops yeah, what RP said... 35 MPixels.

-Rob A>

PillBox
07-19-2008, 05:19 PM
I made a post over at a website called www.zombie-cow.com concerning my icepond.

The guy there came up with a really good look.

The post is here : http://www.zombie-cow.com/forum/index.php?topic=80.0

RobA
07-19-2008, 06:56 PM
I made a frozen pond (of sorts) in one of my maps. It was well received, and might give some inspiration:

5366

-Rob A>