PDA

View Full Version : trying to create map



siriuslupus
12-01-2013, 09:28 PM
I started to create a map on pencil and paper, some of the aspects of the map are numarical ( the terrain being a percentage of the map, regions listed as so many miles square) and others pictorial. Some where something went wrong and nothing seemed to fit anymore. On the picture my differant regions needed it's own scale so that I could fit the terrain in it, when I created my map all the regions where built using the same scale. I was hoping that there was a computer program that I could use to make the two data sets work together. Another thing I will be needing the map to do is being modified after it is created, as well as be able to show numarical data, like villages per square mile, and have distance tools. I am hoping that there is a program that already exists that can do all of this. Finally I know little or nothing about map making.

siriuslupus

Tomalak
12-01-2013, 10:13 PM
It sounds to me like you want to keep two sets of records, a map (or set of maps) and a set of notes. Although, drawing the map from an in-world perspective, with the data handwritten where it's relevant, would be pretty cool. I do have a question for you - did any of your numbers come from math regarding circles or globes? Mapping a whole world is very hard, because it is impossible to accurately map a sphere on a 2-dimensional surface. If this is the case, consider doing a few separate overlapping 'region' maps, so you don't have to worry as much about the curvature.

Good luck, and hang in there!

Azelor
12-02-2013, 12:12 AM
You want to auto map using numbers or you already have the map and want to display the statistics on it ?

If it's the first: I have no ideas but if it's the latter I used a software a couple of years ago. There is a free version but I'm not sure how it can be used on custom worlds : MapInfo MapBasic, Desktop GIS - MapInfo.com (http://www.mapinfo.com/product/mapinfo-mapbasic/)

siriuslupus
12-02-2013, 08:47 PM
Azelor automapping would be about right, I'm trying to fill in a framework using numarical information. The framework is the boarders of my kingdoms, and my kingdoms belong to the same continent. on a side note "Desktop GIS" ?

siriuslupus

siriuslupus
12-02-2013, 08:59 PM
tomalak no I'm not trying to do a globe. I am trying to take two sets of data, one pictorial and another numarical, to make one map (stictly 2d thought 3d terrain would be nice). I have a continent that has several kingdoms in it, I have the boarders of the kingdoms drawn up but no terrain (or anything else for that matter). Thanks for the encouragement.

siriuslupus

Azelor
12-02-2013, 09:23 PM
You have algorithms that correspond to the borders ?

siriuslupus
12-03-2013, 08:17 PM
Azelor can you tell me what you mean by algorithms. When I created my boarders I was taking the area, in numerals, and drawing them out by hand what that area would look like.

siriuslupus

Azelor
12-04-2013, 01:38 AM
I mean a vector like in illustrator or inskape, it define a line trajectory between two points. If you only have something like kingdom A is 300 000 km2 but no other info about it the program won't do anything about it.

But if you already draw it why do you need the statistics ? You just want to know if what is on the map matches the stats? I know how to calculate area based on pixels if you have the scale.

Lingon
12-04-2013, 03:58 PM
I'm unfortunately not aware of a program that can do what you are in need of either, but it would be an extremely interesting one. I've got no coding experience at all so I don't know how easy it'd be to make, but maybe one of the software developers here would be up for it? An app where you type in percentage of land on the planet, number of continents, number of nations, area of the nations, which nations need to border which, which nation needs coast, and any other fun parameters, and then generates a randomized map from those data, would be quite useful.

Anyone? :P

siriuslupus
12-05-2013, 04:09 PM
Azelor I started with statistics and drew the boarders based on the statistics, and the boarders have nothing in them. It was when I was trying to fill them with terrain that things fell apart. I was finding that I needed to find a different scale for each kingdom for the stats to work right, and I made all the kingdoms from the same scale.

As for calculating area I have a side task for you, only one of my kingdoms has been drawn up and when I try calculating it's area I keep getting a different number. If I scanned it would you be able to accurately calculate it's area, and yes the scale will be on the scan?

siriuslupus

siriuslupus
12-05-2013, 04:17 PM
lingon there is a program that can randomly generate world. Go to youtube.com and type " mapping an entire fantasy world: tutorial 1: the basics". I haven't used it myself And know too little to know if it would help.

siriuslupus

Azelor
12-05-2013, 05:19 PM
What software(s) are you using to do this? I know that photosop don't always give the same results but I don't know for other softwares. When you calculated the area, did you clicked on the border or the interior ? Is it possible that you calculated the area covered only by the border ?

There is a way to evaluate the area covered by a country. Draw a grid and count the squares if they are more then half full.

Your program is called Fractal terrain and it can generate world roughly, not precise enough for what you want to do. It's good for people that need a quick world without knowing what they want it to look like.

siriuslupus
12-05-2013, 08:57 PM
Azelor nothing has been done on computer yet, everything I have done so far has been with pencil and paper including trying to find the area of my one kingdom. Trying to do this on computer is something I am seriously looking at.

siriuslupus

Azelor
12-05-2013, 09:11 PM
Yes, I think it will make things much easier.

siriuslupus
12-07-2013, 04:09 PM
Azelor do you know of a program that will at least display the area of an enclosed space?

siriuslupus

Azelor
12-07-2013, 05:24 PM
yes you can calculate the area covered by a specific zone with the Gimp (free)
select the zone with the fuzzy selection tool
then go to windows/histogram and check the number of pixels

siriuslupus
12-08-2013, 01:58 PM
Azelor what do you know about graphic, geospacial information systems, like is it hardware or software or both? When I first started this whole computer cartography thing I did a little research, one of the possibilities was "graphic or geospacil information systems". After I checked it out at wikipedia it sounded like it could use statistical to generate a map. If you don't know anything do you know someone who does?

siriuslupus