PDA

View Full Version : WIP Ustria - My First Attempt

Wiltrichs
01-02-2014, 07:16 AM
Hi all,

I joined yesterday so thought I'd jump right in and have a go myself. I was looking through some old fantasy books last night for some inspiration and this sketch fell out, I must have drawn it about 15 years ago and forgotten about it. I thought it would be a cool place to start.... with a LOT of improvement. I am really new to all this so will appreciate any help and advice you guys can offer as I go. I'm trying to create a world for the wargaming fantasy miniature company I am in the process of starting up.

I was looking through some of the sticky tutorials on here last night and I can see my rivers are pretty awful and go against many of the pointers in the threads, so will need to sort that out. I'm sure there are a lot more mistakes in there too, so please point them out.

I apologise for the unimaginative sea names, they will also be going :)

I'm going to be using Photoshop to create this map. I'm not that experienced at using the software, so I've just scanned it in as a jpeg at 600DPI so I can trace over it. Does that sound right or are there better ways to scan images in?

Anyway, I've got a day off today so will post some more WIP pics later this evening.... hopefully.

Cheers

Wil

schattentanz
01-02-2014, 08:40 AM
Hi Will :)

The first impression of your map is great; one concern about the names, though:
"Ustria" is similar to "Lustria", and "Cadia" well ... is "Cadia"; "Lustria" as well as "Cadia" are names from a certain gaming company known to threaten others in a very agressive way for far less.
So unless you are working for them (which I doubt), well ... just watch out ...

Anyway: welcome to the guild and kind regards,
Kai

Wiltrichs
01-02-2014, 08:59 AM
Hi Kai,